View Single Post
Old 09-29-2012, 09:39 AM   #86
jonnyjack
Rookie
 
jonnyjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stapletonj View Post
The rule, put quite simply, is this.

You CANNOT reachover the net AT ANY TIME, before, during or after contact with the ball, with one exception.

In the proverbial super backspin drop shot which hits, bounces, and comes back over to the other players side before bouncing the second time, you CAN and MUST reach over and at least touch the ball (WITHOUT TOUCHING THE NET) before it bounses the second time.
You don't necessarily have to reach over the net. If the ball spun back over the net close enough to the sideline, you can run around the net and hit the ball as long as you don't step into the opponent's court (or touch the net).

Woodrow can confirm this, unless I'm completely wrong!

Also, I believe the right shot to take when you do run around the net is to hit the ball into the net so it just dies into the court. It would be semi-equivalent to hitting a netcord winner.
__________________
RDS 003 (321g) _ RDiS 100 MP (342g) _ RDiS 200 (342g) _ Pure Control Tour (341g)
Mains: Kirschbaum SS Orange 17 @ 48 lbs _ Crosses: OGSM 17 @ 48 lbs
jonnyjack is offline   Reply With Quote