View Single Post
Old 09-29-2012, 04:10 PM   #88
Rob_C
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blakesq View Post
Thanks MCLOVIN, you correclty pointed out that I was wrong, but your answer also is incorrect. A let is only called if it is UNCLEAR whether the correct ball was played. If the returner hits the wrong ball as a winner, but it is clear later that he played the wrong ball, then no let, he loses the point. The rule is here:

"Case 2: A ball in play hits another ball which is lying in the correct court.
What is the correct decision?
Decision: Play continues. However, if it is not clear that the actual ball in
play has been returned, a let should be called."

For instance, if the ball being served is a wilson 3, but the ball that was returned is a Penn 1, then it is clear he returned the wrong ball, and he loses the point in that weird case.
Where in the rules does it say that the point is lost if the incorrect ball is played??? All I saw was that if it's unclear that the correct ball was returned, the pt is replayed.

The last part about the Wilson & Penn balls was your own example, right??
Rob_C is offline   Reply With Quote