View Single Post
Old 10-19-2012, 02:52 PM   #95
Bedrock
Semi-Pro
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 416
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by blakesq View Post
Thanks MCLOVIN, you correclty pointed out that I was wrong, but your answer also is incorrect. A let is only called if it is UNCLEAR whether the correct ball was played. If the returner hits the wrong ball as a winner, but it is clear later that he played the wrong ball, then no let, he loses the point. The rule is here:

"Case 2: A ball in play hits another ball which is lying in the correct court.
What is the correct decision?
Decision: Play continues. However, if it is not clear that the actual ball in
play has been returned, a let should be called."

For instance, if the ball being served is a wilson 3, but the ball that was returned is a Penn 1, then it is clear he returned the wrong ball, and he loses the point in that weird case.
Assuming that the second ball was on the court before point started, answer is: Play continues.
Bedrock is offline   Reply With Quote