Originally Posted by Bedrock
first drop is considered unintentional hindrance ??? first drop ever, maybe.
I need to see rules which prove your words.
Friend at Court (Hat blowing off is in the same category as ball falling out of pocket
USTA Comment 26.1:
What is the difference between a deliberate and an
unintentional act? Deliberate means a player did what the player intended to
do, even if the result was unintended. An example is a player who hits a short
lob in doubles and loudly shouts “back” just before an opponent hits the
overhead. (See The Code § 34.) Unintentional refers to an act over which a
player has no control, such as a hat blowing off or a scream after a wasp sting.
Friend at Court:
FAC Comment VII.C-9: In a match with a Chair Umpire, a player’s hat flies
off. What should the Chair Umpire do? The first time a hat flies off, a ball
drops from a pocket, or some other item of clothing (including a towel) falls
off, a let shall be called regardless of whether the item lands in or out of the
court. The Chair Umpire shall caution the player that any subsequent similar
incident shall result in a loss of point for deliberate hindrance.
Friend at Court
36. Let due to unintentional hindrance. A player who is hindered by an
opponent’s unintentional act or by something else outside the player’s control is
entitled to a let only if the player could have made the shot had the player not been
hindered. A let is not authorized for a hindrance caused by something within a
player’s control. For example, a request for a let because a player tripped over the
player’s own hat should be denied.
I can keep going. The rule is the same in professional tennis too. Do you want me to quote more?