Originally Posted by woodrow1029
Rule 26, Case 5 is the closest I can think of that would explain it
In doubles, where are the serverís partner and receiverís partner allowed
The serverís partner and the receiverís partner may take any position on
their own side of the net, inside or outside the court. However, if a player is creating a
hindrance to the opponent(s), the hindrance rule should be used.
Perfect, thank you. Looks like you're quoting from the ITF Rules of Tennis.
That rulebook is pretty slender. I was hoping it was a thick book which can be thrown with force at a person's face.