View Single Post
Old 11-09-2012, 01:05 PM   #37
Hall Of Fame
woodrow1029's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,632

Originally Posted by dcdoorknob View Post
I'm not sure that I agree with that 'dropped raquet can't be called a hindrance' rule. I think I could certainly be distracted/hindered by an opponent loudly dropping a raquet, even moreso than alot of other things that can legitimately be called (hat falling off, ball coming out of pocket, etc). I don't think the person who dropped the raquet should be able to call a let, but I do think that the opponent(s) ought to have that option.
Well, they don't.

In the Friend at Court, it's clarified in Rule 22

USTA Comment 22.1:
May the receiver claim a let if the server loses
control and grip of the racket and it lands during the service in the serverís

No. Such an occurrence is not sufficiently unusual to justify a let.
woodrow1029 is offline   Reply With Quote