View Single Post
Old 11-09-2012, 02:05 PM   #37
woodrow1029
Hall Of Fame
 
woodrow1029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcdoorknob View Post
I'm not sure that I agree with that 'dropped raquet can't be called a hindrance' rule. I think I could certainly be distracted/hindered by an opponent loudly dropping a raquet, even moreso than alot of other things that can legitimately be called (hat falling off, ball coming out of pocket, etc). I don't think the person who dropped the raquet should be able to call a let, but I do think that the opponent(s) ought to have that option.
Well, they don't.

In the Friend at Court, it's clarified in Rule 22

USTA Comment 22.1:
May the receiver claim a let if the server loses
control and grip of the racket and it lands during the service in the serverís

court?
No. Such an occurrence is not sufficiently unusual to justify a let.
woodrow1029 is offline   Reply With Quote