View Single Post
Old 11-11-2012, 12:27 PM   #17
Talk Tennis Guru
Mustard's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cwmbran, Wales
Posts: 24,845

When Sampras won his 13th and 14th majors, I don't think Sampras thought that any player would get near those totals for decades, especially as the 1998-2003 period had a load of different major winners.

From 1998-2003 (a 6 year period), the following players won majors:

Petr Korda
Carlos Moya
Pete Sampras
Patrick Rafter
Yevgeny Kafelnikov
Andre Agassi
Gustavo Kuerten
Marat Safin
Goran Ivanisevic
Lleyton Hewitt
Thomas Johansson
Albert Costa
Juan Carlos Ferrero
Roger Federer
Andy Roddick

Yet from 2004-2012 (a 9 year period):

Roger Federer
Gaston Gaudio
Marat Safin
Rafael Nadal
Novak Djokovic
Juan Martin del Potro
Andy Murray
Mustard is offline   Reply With Quote