View Single Post
Old 11-14-2012, 09:42 AM   #87
tennis_ocd
Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmatheis View Post
Wrong

32. Talking during point. A player shall not talk while a ball is moving toward an opponent’s side of the court

do you people not know the definition of "shall not" ?

It does not say "should not", or "it is discouraged" , it says "SHALL NOT"
The ENTIRE paragraph:

32. Talking during point. A player shall not talk while a ball is moving toward an opponent’s side of the court. If a player’s talking interferes with an opponent’s ability to play a ball, the player loses the point. For example, if a doubles player hits a weak lob and loudly yells at the player’s partner to get back and if the shout is loud enough to distract an opponent, then the opponent may claim the point based on a deliberate hindrance. If the opponent chooses to hit the lob and misses it, the opponent loses the point because the opponent did not make a timely claim of hindrance.

Admittedly, just as with the loose ball, distraction and interference is left to the opponent. But I think it pretty clear from the entire rule (and personal experience in playing) that it'd be quite a stretch to present that non-interfering, verbal signaling to your partner would be "cheating."
tennis_ocd is online now   Reply With Quote