View Single Post
Old 11-14-2012, 07:56 PM   #68
woodrow1029
Hall Of Fame
 
woodrow1029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lefty View Post
Ok, how about this? I move forward on a poach and hit a strong volley off my opponent's leg. After hitting the ball, and after it hit my opponent (my contention), my momentum carries me into the net. My call was that the ball hit the opponent first ending the point and my contact with the net didin't matter as the point was over. My opponent said any momentum from the shot that carried me into the net causes forfeit of the point. I said that's nonsense, but let's play it over (friendly match).

As I see it the critical call is did I touch the net (my side of the court) before the ball hit my opponent (their side of the court). Who gets to say which happened first?

Doubt if it'll ever happen again in my life on the court, but I'm curious.
It's the players call that touched the net. A touch is always your own responsibility to call on yourself.
woodrow1029 is offline   Reply With Quote