View Single Post
Old 11-17-2012, 09:16 AM   #7
OrangePower
Hall Of Fame
 
OrangePower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NorCal Bay Area
Posts: 3,639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlam View Post
What kind of argument is that?

I hit a 1st serve that I perceive to be wide but he says it good
I know it's out but I can't over rule him and and end up taking the point
Clearly this over rule would have benefited the opponent
If you see your serve out, and your opponent does not get a return back, you can say to your opponent "hey, I thought the serve was out". Your opponent will then likely say either "no, your point, I'm pretty sure it was in", or else "thanks, I wasn't sure but didn't want to call it out, second serve." Either way, the final call is theirs.

On the other hand if they make a good return, you have to play the point. You can't stop play and claim your serve was out.
OrangePower is online now   Reply With Quote