View Single Post
Old 11-17-2012, 11:50 AM   #17
dlam
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avles View Post
Here is what the Code says:

Neither the server nor serverís partner shall make a fault call on the first service even if they think it is out because the receiver may be giving the server the benefit of the doubt. There is one exception. If the receiver plays a first service that is a fault and does not put the return in play, the server or serverís partner may make the fault call.

So again, the the rule is this:

1. If your opponent fails to return your first serve, you may call it out, just like you may call out your second serve, or any other shot you hit. The rules for calling first serves in this case are no different than for any other shot.

2. If your opponent successfully returns your first serve, you have no call. Your opponent's non-call always stands.

From the code 2011 ed

13. Player calls own shots out. With the exception of the first serve, a player should call out the player's own shots if the player clearly sees the ball out regardless of whether requested to do so by an opponent. The prime objective in making calls is accuracy. All players should cooperate to attain this objective.

and

25. Service calls by serving team. Neither the server nor serverís partner shall make a fault call on the first service even if they think it is out because the receiver may be giving the server the benefit of the doubt. There is one exception. If the receiver plays a first service that is a fault and does not put the return in play, the server or serverís partner may make the fault call. The server and the serverís partner shall call out any second serve that either clearly sees out.


From what I'm reading #25 refers to doubles play not singles.
Any one?
dlam is offline   Reply With Quote