Thread: Vijay Amritraj
View Single Post
Old 11-25-2012, 05:53 AM   #60
Talk Tennis Guru
Mustard's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cwmbran, Wales
Posts: 24,811

Regarding 1973 Wimbledon, the only scabs were the 3 ATP affiliated players who refused to strike, which were Ilie Nastase, Roger Taylor and Ray Keldie, who were later fined by the ATP for their strikebreaking actions. Vijay Amritraj, Jimmy Connors and Bjorn Borg were not ATP members at the time.

Originally Posted by rajeshafrica View Post
So was Connors and Sandy Meyer
Connors was a professional, but not an ATP member. He refused to join the ATP for the longest time. I believe that Connors was asked to join the ATP before 1973 Wimbledon and to strike with them, but he refused to join. Roscoe Tanner mentions Connors refusing to join and strike in his autobiography, and Arthur Ashe also mentioned something about it.

Last edited by Mustard; 11-25-2012 at 06:04 AM.
Mustard is offline   Reply With Quote