View Single Post
Old 11-28-2012, 04:22 PM   #10
Cindysphinx
G.O.A.T.
 
Cindysphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14,961
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AR15 View Post
USTA rules state you must default from the bottom up. The only way you can default court 1 doubles, by the rules, is if court 3 and court 2 have already defaulted.
Mostly correct.

Our rules say it is the responsibility of the non-defaulting captain to ensure that the bottom-up rule is followed. If players on lower courts start their matches before the default period, there is no move-up. Same result if non-defaulting captain chooses not to enforce the rule for whatever reason.

You'll often see a Tennislink entry with a default on Court One. That's usually somebody who got stuck in traffic and no one bothered to move the lower players up.
__________________
-- Random Error Generator, Version 4.0
-- Master Moonballer
Cindysphinx is offline   Reply With Quote