View Single Post
Old 11-29-2012, 12:18 PM   #30
Hall Of Fame
woodrow1029's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,631

Originally Posted by treblings View Post
question for woodrow in particular(since i understand youīre a professional umpire)
when i play on clay, do i need to be able to show a clear mark if i call a ball out?
problem 1, sometimes on wet courts itīs difficult to see a clear mark
problem 2, once i look away from the mark, i might not be able to find it again with certainty. in situations when i donīt expect the call to be challenged in the first place that can happen.
Well, the Code states that on any point ending shot or ball that you call out that is very close, that you should take an extra second to confirm you saw it correctly if you call it out. That being said, yes there are times when you don't see a clear mark; however, you know the ball is out. You are not required to show a ball mark, because it is still your call to make on your side of the net. But, if you start making a lot of out calls on balls that are very close, and every time you are asked to show a mark you say you don't have it or you don't know where it is, you are just going to lose credibility with opponents and officials.
woodrow1029 is offline   Reply With Quote