View Single Post
Old 12-09-2012, 11:31 AM   #2
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,773

Originally Posted by newmark401 View Post
The Austrian Championships were first held in 1894, when the main events were a men’s singles and a men’s doubles. The tournament was usually held in late May/early June, on clay courts. Up until 1914, it was held in Prague in Bohemia, which was then part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. After World War One, during which time the tournament was not held, the Austrian Championships were held in Vienna.

For a good number of years during the tournament’s early history a Challenge Round was in force in the men’s singles event. This meant that the previous year’s holder did not have to play through, but could sit out and wait to see who won what was known as the All-Comers’ event.

It is quite difficult to obtain results from the men’s singles final at the Austrian Championships for the years 1921-30, so only the winner’s name is provided for those years.

The main sources for the following results are “Sport und Spiel”, “Der Lawn-Tennis-Sport”, “Lawn Tennis and Croquet” and “Lawn Tennis and Badminton”.


The men’s singles final at the Austrian Championships (1894-1930)

1894 H.W. Gandon d. Count Viktor Voss (GER) 6-0, 6-1, 6-3
1895 Conway W. Blackwood-Price (GBR) d. H.W. Gandon 6-1, 6-2, 6-4
1896 Herbert Dering (GBR) d. [????]
1897 Herbert Dering (GBR) d. H.W. Gandon 6-3, 6-1, retired
1898 Jorge Andrť d. Rolf Kinzl (AUT) 6-1, 0-6, 6-3, 6-3
1899 Herbert Dering (GBR) d. [????]
1900 Major Ritchie (GBR) d. Herbert Dering (GBR), walkover
1901 Major Ritchie (GBR) d. Curt von Wessely (AUT) 6-1, 6-2, 6-1
1902 Major Ritchie (GBR) d. Frederick W. Payn (GBR) 6-3, 6-2, 6-4
1903 Major Ritchie (GBR) d. Curt von Wessely (AUT) 6-0, 6-0, 6-2
1904 Herbert Roper-Barrett (GBR) d. Major Ritchie (GBR) 1-6, 6-2, 3-0, retired
1905 Major Ritchie (GBR) d. Curt von Wessely (AUT) 6-3, 8-6, 6-4
1906 Anthony Wilding (NZL) d. Major Ritchie (GBR) 7-5, 2-6, 7-5, 6-3
1907 Anthony Wilding (NZL) d. Oscar Kreuzer (GER) 6-1, 6-1, 6-1
1908 Tournament not held
1909 Curt von Wessely (AUT) d. Fritz Pipes (AUT) 8-6, 6-1, 7-5
1910 Heinrich Kleinschroth (GER) d. Jaroslav Just 6-2, 6-1, 6-1
1911 Heinrich Kleinschroth (GER) d. Oscar Kreuzer (GER) 5-7, 3-6, 6-1, retired
1912 Otto Froitzheim (GER) d. Oscar Kreuzer (GER) 6-1, 6-1, retired
1913 Oskar Kreuzer (GER) d. Fritz Pipes (AUT) 6-2, 6-3, 7-5
1914 Oskar Kreuzer (GER) d. Robert Kleinschroth (GER) 6-2, 7-5, 6-4
1915-20 Tournament not held due to World War One
1921 Robert Kleinschroth (GER)
1922 Bela von Kehrling (HUN)
1923 Oskar Kreuzer (GER)
1924 Umberto de Morpurgo (ITA)
1925 Karel Kozeluh (CZE)
1926 Karel Kozeluh (CZE)
1927 [?] George [?]
1928 Henri Cochet (FRA)
1929 Henri Cochet (FRA)
1930 William Tilden (USA)
Thanks for the championship roll. Good work.

For 1926 and 1926 it probably must read JAN Kozeluh. Karel K. was then a pro.

Last edited by BobbyOne; 12-09-2012 at 12:42 PM.
BobbyOne is offline   Reply With Quote