Originally Posted by spot
I wasn't specific enough. This is a guy who is a highschool teacher who also teaches the highschool girls tennis team on the side. Basically ALTA doesn't want to discourage ALTA players from taking on that as a hobby.
I haven't talked to ALTA myself- the guy told us that he had cleared it with ALTA so hopefully we don't have some mole trying to get us DQ'd!
The way you wrote your post, it sounded like you had spoken to ALTA directly when you said "...they said that it does not count...".
So basically what you're relaying to us is hearsay (even if this coach did really get cleared by ALTA), which isn't really a big deal in and of itself.
Regardless, I see what you mean about ALTA not being the most consistent when it comes to its own rules.