Originally Posted by stringertom
Last night the Tragic were two fouls away from a situation I've never seen before...not having five guys to play! Apparently, they dressed seven after dealing four guys at the trade deadline, losing two to injuries (Davis, Nelson) and one to suspension (Turkoglu). They played the Grizzlies tough but Vukevic and Harkless fouled out, leaving them the minimum five to play.
Does anybody know the rule imposed if the sixth foul had been rung up on one of the last five? Is it a forfeit?
you don't foul out(the fifth guy), the opposing team gets a free throw regardless of type of foul'
In the NBA and WNBA, if a team is reduced to five players and one commits a sixth foul, that player must stay in the game; one additional free throw is awarded to the opposing team. Even if there are no free throws to be awarded because of an offensive foul, the one free throw will be added irrespective of offensive or defensive foul. A one-free throw penalty will also be awarded if said team has a player who must leave the game after being injured or ejected, and has no legal substitutes; the last player to foul out rejoins the game with the one free throw penalty. Thus, no team can be reduced to four players in those leagues. This rule is how Don Otten managed to set the NBA record for personal fouls in a regular season game. He had eight fouls while playing for the Tri-Cities Blackhawks against the Sheboygan Red Skins on November 24, 1949.