Originally Posted by asimple
I see the logic, but please explain to me where this is in the rules.
If there is a dispute over the timing of the call why is the benefit of the doubt given to the calling player and the point awarded to them. Where is this in the rules?
You are asking us to prove a negative.
Nowhere in the rules does it say that the person who hits a shot gets to decide if the out call was timely enough. Absent such a provision, then we default to "You call your side of the net and I call mine, no matter how bogus you think my call was."
There are other Code provisions where the Code gives a directive but does not give a remedy if it is violated. Whether an out call is prompt is one example. Other examples are whether someone is returning Obviously Out Serves and server's obligation to announce the score. These things can be addressed by a roving official who witnesses the infraction.
So no. The person who hits a shot does not get to decide that the call came too late and demand a let or demand the point. IMHO.