View Single Post
Old 12-09-2013, 04:20 PM   #26
goran_ace
Hall Of Fame
 
goran_ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: At Large
Posts: 2,532
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10isDad View Post
Ah, but there is an NCAA rule against it - at least for D-1 and D-2. The D-3 manual isn't so specific in naming tennis.
Thanks for finding that, 10isDad. I wasn't aware of the rule. Probably because I had enough opportunities to play out of season (e.g. non mandatory practices led by seniors, no coach present) that I never explored playing USTA league while in school, although I remember one year one of my teammates had an eligibility issue after playing a tournament and had to sit for two matches while he was waiting to be cleared. Maybe that was the NCAA rule in question. We had a team rule in effect that we couldn't play any intramurals after someone rolled an ankle playing basketball but guys still played pick up ball at the rec center.
goran_ace is offline   Reply With Quote