|
|||||||
| Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|
#1 |
|
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,699
|
People,
I received an email from a very serious scammer. He is all over Internet. Many countries and all kind of forums. Here is what I know so far: The names he uses: VITALISE NATHAN RAY MORGAN WISDOM AHMED Emails: engvitalisenath@gmail.com wisah1986@gmail.com Phone#: +447024020824 He is also: NATION WIDE BANK DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS NATIONWIDE BANK PLC NATIONWIDE BANK PLC 23 CONWAY ROAD 23 CONWAY ROAD COLWYN BAY LL29 7ABE COLWYN BAY LL29 7ABE E-MAIL:bartostevepaydesk@gmail.com E-MAIL: bartostevepaydesk@gmail.com INTERNATIONAL PROMOTIONS SECTION INTERNATIONAL PROMOTIONS SECTION This is really serious. Do not underestimate this guy and/or scheme. NEVER SEND YOUR MONEY VIA WESTERN UNION!!! Bob |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,699
|
Typical email would look like this:
Hello SIR/MADAM i saw your classified ads on the internet i have the items you so requested for sale.Are you still very INTERESTED in the need to purchase ?contact me SO WE CAN DO BUSINESS RAY MORGAN winnersales2@gmail.com Manchester UK +447024020824 |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 | |
|
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 23,301
|
Quote:
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 | |
|
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,900
|
Quote:
Can't you file a claim to the FTC website for scammers and frauds? I remember a little video showing us how to do it on Craig's List.
__________________
Babolat AeroPro Control MP. BLACK RACQUET 98T Genesis Black Magic 17g @ 54/56 lbs |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
New User
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 77
|
I just received one of the emails in question:
-- I am into sale of Rackets of diffrerent kinds in good and new condition my prices are affordable and negotiable.i have the requested item you are requesting to purchase, If interested kindly give me a mail...I will be waiting. Whats your phone # ? Alvin Martins 32 York street W1U 6PZ United Kingdom m.alvin@blumail.org |
|
|
|
| NetMuncher |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by NetMuncher |
|
|
#6 |
|
Hall Of Fame
|
I'll see if I still have the email but I got one too!!!
|
|
|
|
| Larrysümmers |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by Larrysümmers |
|
|
#7 |
|
New User
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 47
|
he almost got me today...I was on the page to send him $$$ via western union and figure i'd do a search for his email and this came up. Thanks OP you just saved me $110!!!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Hall Of Fame
|
Hello!!!!
i have the item you are requesting to purchase email me for details regards +447024020824 Ahmed W. london this was my first messege in the spam mail, i went there looking for an email i got awhile ago. ironic |
|
|
|
| Larrysümmers |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by Larrysümmers |
|
|
#9 |
|
Semi-Pro
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western Michigan
Posts: 634
|
I received the same email (see below)
Hello!!!! i have the item you are requesting to purchase email me for details regards +447024020824 Ahmed W. london The email address (wisah1986@gmail.com) comes up as Wisdom Ahmed. I immediately figured that this was a scammer or spammer.
__________________
Because everything should taste like bacon. |
|
|
|
| Applesauceman |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by Applesauceman |
|
|
#10 |
|
Professional
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
|
Thanks for the heads up.
Pretty typical scam these days. He sends out a million emails via a spam program and 10+ doofi (plural of doofus) reply. It only takes a few idiots to make it worth the scammer's while. I'm amazed how naive some people are. |
|
|
|
| Fearsome Forehand |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by Fearsome Forehand |
|
|
#11 |
|
Banned
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 326
|
I am amzaed that people even look twice at these types of emails...
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
New User
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 47
|
well I almost fell for it because he emailed me right after I posted a WTB item and he says he has the item for sale.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Hall Of Fame
|
|
|
|
|
| Larrysümmers |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by Larrysümmers |
|
|
#14 |
|
New User
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 47
|
Regular inbox he replied to my post on the wanted section of the forums.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
Professional
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,292
|
Bob, Thanks for the heads up!!
|
|
|
|
| rodrigoamaral |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by rodrigoamaral |
|
|
#16 |
|
Professional
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,276
|
I also got something similar a few days ago. It was 3 emails for my most recent classifieds stating. The item you want is available. Contact me.
__________________
Head Youtek Prestige Pro strung RIP 17 49lb Head leather/Babolat VS. TGK 238.4 NXT17 55lbs . Pro Stock Radical MP with MT @ 55 FS or FT. |
|
|
|
|
|
#17 |
|
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,699
|
You are all very welcome!!!
Imho, this is not only about being naive. It is also about being inexperienced. This scammer responded promptly and he sounded very nice. God knows how many people logged in to their WU accounts |
|
|
|
|
|
#18 |
|
Semi-Pro
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North of Boston, MA
Posts: 752
|
Thank you for the post Bob.
But once i hear Western Union, even if the deal super sweet, i walk away. Regardless of who offers it and what is being offered. Also, the sweeter the deal, the more cautious i get. That is just a rule of thumb. Where i come from, people have an old saying - "Free cheese is only in a mouse trap."
__________________
Only two things are infinite; The Universe and Human Stupidity, and I'm not sure about the Universe -Albert Einstein. |
|
|
|
| Kot_Bigemot |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by Kot_Bigemot |
|
|
#19 | |
|
Professional
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
|
This got stickied???
Hey, can we please get stickies for the ubiquitous Nigerian lottery email scams and confidence men trying to sell unsuspecting tourists the Brooklyn Bridge? How about a sticky about the hazards of running with scissors? Maybe 10 or 15 years ago when the internet was relatively new, I could see how someone could get duped by one of these scamming jerks. But, unless one has been living in a cave five miles beneath the earth's surface, I don't see how it is possible to get taken by one of these scams. One would have to be pretty dim. This wasn't even a good scam, the email is vague referring to items and the wording is strange as if English isn't the email composer's first language. Quote:
If this guy takes anyone here for a single dime, that user will have to start The Official Too Stupid to Live Club. Last edited by Fearsome Forehand : 07-22-2010 at 09:32 PM. |
|
|
|
|
| Fearsome Forehand |
| View Public Profile |
| Find More Posts by Fearsome Forehand |
|
|
#20 |
|
Professional
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 837
|
FF, thanks for saying what I've been thinking all along. I've been reading this thing, thinking... sticky?!? Is it April Fool's Day?!?
|
|
|
|
![]() |
|
||||||
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|