• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Blog
  • Blogs
  • FAQ

Go Back   Talk Tennis > Miscellaneous > TW Questions/Comments
Reload this Page A scammer parading as TW?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 01:01 PM   #1
scotus
Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,343
Default A scammer parading as TW?

I just came on TTW (at 1:55 pm PST, Wed, 12/12/12) and a window pops up asking me to fill out a 5-question survey for a $100 TW gift card. The window even showed the authentic TW gift card on it.

Since I was on TTW and it looked legit, I answered some questions, gave my first name and cell #.

And then it went to a "CONFIRM" page and showed a timer that counted down from 120 seconds to confirm my cell phone number, except the page didn't show how to confirm it.

At any rate, it looks to me that it may have been a scamware and it took my first name and cell #.

Any thoughts, TW?

***By the way, if you see any hyperlinks on my text, don't click on it. There's something weird going on here.

Last edited by scotus : 12-12-2012 at 01:06 PM.
scotus is offline   Reply With Quote
scotus
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by scotus
Old 12-12-2012, 01:41 PM   #2
TW Staff
Administrator
 
TW Staff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tennis-Warehouse.com
Posts: 22,452
Default

Sorry to hear that your getting these, but unfortunately there's nothing we can do from our end. Our IT recommends running a virus scan and an anti-spyware scan. Something has found its way onto your computer.

We do not have any pop-ups installed on Talk Tennis so please do not click on any.

Thanks,
Tiffani, TW
__________________
LIKE us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/tenniswarehouse
Follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/TennisWarehouse
TW Blog: http://blog.tenniswarehouse.com/
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/tenniswarehouse
Follow us on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/tenniswarehouse/
Add us on Google+: www.google.com/+tenniswarehouse
TW Staff is online now   Reply With Quote
TW Staff
View Public Profile
Visit TW Staff's homepage!
Find More Posts by TW Staff
Old 12-12-2012, 02:05 PM   #3
Andyroo10567
Semi-Pro
 
Andyroo10567's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 784
Default

^^.... Uh..... Was that sent to you via email?
__________________
Racquet : Prince Youtek 6.1 Tour 531g 17x19
Strings : Steel Wire ( 21G ) <- Prototype
Andyroo10567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Andyroo10567
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by Andyroo10567
Old 12-12-2012, 02:26 PM   #4
scotus
Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyroo10567 View Post
^^.... Uh..... Was that sent to you via email?
No, just a pop-up when I visited either TW or Talk Tennis.
scotus is offline   Reply With Quote
scotus
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by scotus
Old 12-12-2012, 05:02 PM   #5
LanEvo
Hall Of Fame
 
LanEvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler, AZ / Stockton, CA / UCD
Posts: 2,584
Send a message via AIM to LanEvo Send a message via Yahoo to LanEvo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotus View Post
No, just a pop-up when I visited either TW or Talk Tennis.
I think you need to scan on Trojan/Maleware.

Malewarebytes is the best. The free version should delete and clean up everything for you. And it would never hurt to run CCleaner every once in a while either.
__________________
2012 Babolat Pure Drive Roddick Plus
2012 Babolat Pure Drive Roddick Standard
LanEvo is offline   Reply With Quote
LanEvo
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by LanEvo
Old 12-13-2012, 12:50 AM   #6
scotus
Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TW Staff View Post
Sorry to hear that your getting these, but unfortunately there's nothing we can do from our end. Our IT recommends running a virus scan and an anti-spyware scan. Something has found its way onto your computer.

We do not have any pop-ups installed on Talk Tennis so please do not click on any.

Thanks,
Tiffani, TW
Thank you, Tiffani.

I ran Spybot to eliminate one malware, although I'm not entirely sure whether that was the culprit.

I was still seeing hyperlinks in my posts afterward, so I set the Java blocker to block rivalgaming.com, and it did the trick.

Hopefully it's smooth sailing from here.

BTW, why does my McAfee never catch anything?
scotus is offline   Reply With Quote
scotus
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by scotus
Old 12-13-2012, 02:54 AM   #7
McLovin
Hall Of Fame
 
McLovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotus View Post
BTW, why does my McAfee never catch anything?
Because its too busy avoiding deportation to Belize?
__________________
"Nobody beats Vitas Gerulaitis 17 times in a row" -- Vitas Gerulaitis, after beating Jimmy Connors on his 17th try.
McLovin is online now   Reply With Quote
McLovin
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by McLovin
Old 12-13-2012, 03:14 AM   #8
wrxinsc
Professional
 
wrxinsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cackalacky South
Posts: 996
Default

try avg and grisoft's free range of other stuff.
__________________
_
I'm known for my extremities and tennis wasn't going to be of any difference. -Stergios
wrxinsc is offline   Reply With Quote
wrxinsc
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by wrxinsc
Old 12-13-2012, 04:42 AM   #9
mikeler
G.O.A.T.
 
mikeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 14,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McLovin View Post
Because its too busy avoiding deportation to Belize?
Belize spare us with your jokes.

To the OP, I recommend setting up a non Administrator account on your computer and use that for web surfing. Those accounts can't install software which means you probably can't install spyware either.
mikeler is offline   Reply With Quote
mikeler
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by mikeler
Old 12-13-2012, 08:07 AM   #10
zapvor
Legend
 
zapvor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: tennis courts
Posts: 7,908
Send a message via MSN to zapvor Send a message via Yahoo to zapvor
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McLovin View Post
Because its too busy avoiding deportation to Belize?
hahhahaha nice
__________________
Member of TW MAC. yes, we are better than you. and we bout to hop on a court to make another 'mil
zapvor is offline   Reply With Quote
zapvor
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by zapvor
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »


Go Back   Talk Tennis > Miscellaneous > TW Questions/Comments
Reload this Page A scammer parading as TW?

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode
Hybrid Mode Switch to Hybrid Mode
Threaded Mode Switch to Threaded Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:08 AM.

Talk Tennis :: Powered By Tennis Warehouse - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006 - Tennis Warehouse