• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Blog
  • Blogs
  • FAQ

Go Back   Talk Tennis > Classifieds > References
Reload this Page Person using somebody else's pics to 'sell' items
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2012, 03:24 PM   #1
Bilders
New User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 86
Send a message via Yahoo to Bilders
Default Person using somebody else's pics to 'sell' items

A question for you all,

If a person offers you several shirts, and a few days later they send you pics that you know belong to another person who you know in previous dealings - is this considered an attempt at a scam?

If so then I have somebody to report.
Bilders is offline   Reply With Quote
Bilders
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by Bilders
Old 09-25-2012, 04:25 PM   #2
zapvor
Legend
 
zapvor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: tennis courts
Posts: 7,904
Send a message via MSN to zapvor Send a message via Yahoo to zapvor
Default

um yes!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Member of TW MAC. yes, we are better than you. and we bout to hop on a court to make another 'mil
zapvor is offline   Reply With Quote
zapvor
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by zapvor
Old 09-25-2012, 04:29 PM   #3
Fearsome Forehand
Professional
 
Fearsome Forehand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,020
Default

If the seller doesn't say these are pics of the same shirt that I found on the internet that are representative, it is a bit shady.

Not necessarily a scam. He could just be too lazy to take his own pics. Certainly worth asking about before you purchase.

Watermarks help discourage that practice.

Edit: Sure seems like he was trying to scam the OP. At best, he misrepresented what he actually had.

Last edited by Fearsome Forehand : 10-02-2012 at 08:16 AM.
Fearsome Forehand is offline   Reply With Quote
Fearsome Forehand
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by Fearsome Forehand
Old 09-25-2012, 07:49 PM   #4
Bilders
New User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 86
Send a message via Yahoo to Bilders
Default

He sent me 15 different photos of shirts that he claimed to have just received in the post. EVERY photo belongs to a friend of mine. I also confirmed this with my friend who confirmed that these photos are from his own collection of tennis shirt pics. The ironic thing is I actually already own one of the exact shirts in the photo.
Bilders is offline   Reply With Quote
Bilders
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by Bilders
Old 09-25-2012, 09:32 PM   #5
Bilders
New User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 86
Send a message via Yahoo to Bilders
Default

TT User: Born to play
Email: rezaei.esfandiar6@gmail.com

He has admitted his mistake but everyone should still beware this person. If I didn't know he was using my friend's pic he was going to take me for a ride.
Bilders is offline   Reply With Quote
Bilders
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by Bilders
Old 09-25-2012, 10:44 PM   #6
Fearsome Forehand
Professional
 
Fearsome Forehand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,020
Default

Please clarify.

Did you conclude he was setting you up for a scam or do you think he has those shirts but was using your friend's pictures as representative?

I assume he is a kid. Total nadaltard.

Also if anyone does a search for born to play it will come up that the search terms are too short/ no result. A flaw in the search system?

Last edited by Fearsome Forehand : 09-25-2012 at 11:04 PM.
Fearsome Forehand is offline   Reply With Quote
Fearsome Forehand
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by Fearsome Forehand
Old 09-26-2012, 02:07 AM   #7
Bilders
New User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 86
Send a message via Yahoo to Bilders
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fearsome Forehand View Post
Please clarify.

Did you conclude he was setting you up for a scam or do you think he has those shirts but was using your friend's pictures as representative?

I assume he is a kid. Total nadaltard.

Also if anyone does a search for born to play it will come up that the search terms are too short/ no result. A flaw in the search system?
He admitted that he never intended to sell any shirts to me. It was his leverage to try and get me to sell some shoes to him which I refused on several occasions. And then following the admission, he tried to tell me that the person who owns the photos (friend of mine) is going to sell the shirts to him but at a higher price. He clearly doesn't mind beating a dead horse.

I know for a fact that most of the shirts in the pics have already been sold before. And I own one of them myself. This is also highly disrespectful to my friend who has been brought into it once 'Born to play' mentioned that my friend would sell the shirts to him after all.

You can find the users profile if a user search is done. Email proof can be provided if there is a dispute. I dodged a serious bullet here.
Bilders is offline   Reply With Quote
Bilders
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by Bilders
Old 10-03-2012, 12:52 PM   #8
ductrung3993
Hall Of Fame
 
ductrung3993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Belmont, SF bay
Posts: 2,057
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilders View Post
TT User: Born to play
Email: rezaei.esfandiar6@gmail.com

He has admitted his mistake but everyone should still beware this person. If I didn't know he was using my friend's pic he was going to take me for a ride.
This explains a lot
__________________
3.0 dedicated hitting partner needed in Belmont, San Mateo. Hit me up at trung.td.nguyen[at]gmail.com. Thank you.
ductrung3993 is offline   Reply With Quote
ductrung3993
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by ductrung3993
Old 10-05-2012, 03:12 AM   #9
Bilders
New User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 86
Send a message via Yahoo to Bilders
Default

Have you had issues with him before?
Bilders is offline   Reply With Quote
Bilders
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by Bilders
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »


Go Back   Talk Tennis > Classifieds > References
Reload this Page Person using somebody else's pics to 'sell' items

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode
Hybrid Mode Switch to Hybrid Mode
Threaded Mode Switch to Threaded Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:01 AM.

Talk Tennis :: Powered By Tennis Warehouse - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006 - Tennis Warehouse