Recent content by JavierLW

  1. J

    First Serve or Second -- You Decide

    Wow, you really are not making much sense. The CODE is EXACTLY what we use, "we" being tennis players in the United States that actually play any sort of organized tennis and actually try to follow some set of rules rather then making them up....) when there is no official. It is not just a...
  2. J

    First Serve or Second -- You Decide

    Right, I have seen that a few times. It happens, and I dont think normally it's a big deal. Usually everyone just acknowledges that it was called out and play moves on. (especially when all four people maybe SAW IT GO OUT)
  3. J

    First Serve or Second -- You Decide

    It's in the CODE on page 40: "When there is a delay between the first and second serves: •The server gets one serve if the server was the cause of the delay; • The server gets two serves if the delay was caused by the receiver or if there was outside interference. The time it takes to...
  4. J

    First Serve or Second -- You Decide

    There is a difference between what people SHOULD do and what they do and what the rules entail. I am not talking about what they SHOULD do. Just because you are passionate about something doesn't make it so. I grew up playing outside tennis in High School for the High School tennis team...
  5. J

    First Serve or Second -- You Decide

    That's kind of sketchy because there are times when a person does call it out and nobody notices. They are "supposed" to be obvious about it but there is no punishment for not doing it (other then causing confusing situations such as this). So almost anytime you encounter someone who claims...
  6. J

    First Serve or Second -- You Decide

    That rule is for when the "ball is in play". Once the ball is returned, it is in play and any LET after that will result in a reply of the whole point. If we take the LiarLady's word for it, the ball was never "in play" because she "called it out". Thus it goes down to where what Cindy is...
  7. J

    First Serve or Second -- You Decide

    I dont think you can take the point for hindrance on the first occasion anyway. It's basically a warning and is just as good as a Let. Either way you would reply the point.
  8. J

    First Serve or Second -- You Decide

    If we pretend that they really called it out, then it's up to them to determine whether it's a first or second serve. (by their judgment as to how long the delay is) But from the sound of it she lied, even her partner didnt hear a call and was confused. By rule you are not allowed to call...
  9. J

    DQ?

    Those are not all strikes even if it was accurate. Strikes come from the Calculation of your Latest Match Results Averaged in with your last 3 Ratings (or year end rating). That number is what results in a strike, not the match itself. You'd have to look at the column on the right to guess...
  10. J

    DQ?

    If you happen to be playing in a 4.0 League and you come across a 3.5 rated player, your rating outcome is going to be Exactly the same as had you met them in the 3.5 League. So that part of it makes it no surprise that she hasn't exactly gotten struck out, the matches against 3.5 opponents...
  11. J

    Obscure USTA question

    No. Basically they were Computer Rated 4.0's, but they appealed down to 3.5 to get a 3.5A. So we will continue to wag our finger at you and shake our heads in disapproval, thank you! :-) As far as your actual issue, a lot of areas do not have a limit to how many players you can have on a...
  12. J

    What deserves a grievance reported

    1) It's "Tri-Level", nobody cares. 2) Now this is my most important point: Your partner, let's call him "Player C", should learn not to ask the opponents dumb questions like "what did you see?", especially when your opponent (let's call him "Player A") is a notorious hothead...
  13. J

    The Partner Who Fibbed

    That is a good question and a hairy one. If they won the game anyway then there is nothing to fix, they didn't need that point. But if you won the game then it's kind of a mess to fix, especially if it's not even the game you just finished. They might not be happy, but I doubt you'd run...
  14. J

    The Partner Who Fibbed

    It's kind of too late to say anything. It's wrong that your opponent lied, but even though you are her Doubles Partner and you are on the same team, it's not really your duty to point out that she is a liar to everyone and correct the situation and create the extra drama. It's her...
  15. J

    USTA survey gives 150 characters for comments!

    There are probably a lot of volunteers but I know the DLC in our area takes in a nice salary. If the Volunteer's cant do the job, then you have to blame the Management just like any other Organization that is asking people for money to get some sort of product or service. Most of these...
Top