I was playing practice doubles yesterday, in bright sun and huge heat. One of my opponents was a woman I know well and practice with frequently. She has a good serve. But I have "solved" her serve. I know where to stand (well behind baseline) and what to do, so she doesn't get the cheap points off of me that she does off of people without my inside knowledge. Similarly, she uses her inside knowledge on me to punish my serve. It's all good. So yesterday she is serving into the sun. She steps up to serve, announces the score clearly, and then serves underhand (!). I put on the afterburners and barely reach this ball before it bounces twice. I am lucky my back did not snap in two. I push it into the service box and we play out the point. Then she serves to my partner, a normal serve. Then she served to me -- another underhand serve. This time I was ready, and I got it back into play. The next time she served to me, she announced the score and I had my toes on the service line. She tossed in the air for her normal serve, so I backpedaled furiously and managed to be in position well enough to return the serve. Same thing, again and again for a very long service game. I didn't miss any returns. But I was kind of irked by this. I mean, I know it is within the rule. But there is something about that sort of thing that made steam come out of my ears. I mean, I'm thinking there was a reason Martina Hingis practically got stoned when she tried it. My friend explained that the sun was bothering her and she had been double-faulting a lot (we were rotating people among the various doubles pairs and singles players, so this was my first chance to play against her that day), so she figured she'd just serve underhand. She cheerfully said that she had done it with one of the older players who doesn't move well, and she wasn't able to scurry back and forth like I had. So. If we partner in a match and she starts doing this, should I say something?