Back to Back Tiebreak, Who Serves?

CosmosMpower

Hall of Fame
I played a USTA scrimmage match this weekend and was not sure about a rule. Me and my partner lost the first set and got to a 2nd set 7 point tiebreak. We served the first point of the tiebreak and won it 7-0. The other team served the final 2 serves in the tiebreak.

They claimed they start the 10 point tiebreak (in lieu of 3rd set) serving despite serving the last 2 points in the tiebreak. Is this correct?
 

g4driver

Legend
Here is an easy way I remember the rule. The tiebreak is the 13 game of that set, 7-6, whether the set is 7-5, 18-16 or 10-8. The set is still scored 7-6

If you serve the 13th game, who would start the next set or the first serve of a 10 PT TB? The opponent.
 

CosmosMpower

Hall of Fame
Difference is if it was a regular 13th game one team/person would be serving the entire game. In a TB it goes back and forth. Seems like a bad deal if the opponent served the game before the tiebreak, everyone served (nearly) equal amounts in the tiebreak then the opponent served again if a full 3rd set was being played instead of another tiebreak.

If it's a full 3rd set does the opponent still serve?
 

darkhorse

Semi-Pro
You had the advantage by starting the 7pt tiebreaker, why should the rotation change because you didn't capitalize?
 

g4driver

Legend
Yes opponent would still serve the first game of the 3rd set if you start the set TB of the 2nd set.
 

schmke

Legend
You had the advantage by starting the 7pt tiebreaker, why should the rotation change because you didn't capitalize?
Or put another way, the team that served first to start the tie-break had gotten to serve first to go up 1-0, then 2-1, then 3-2, etc. the entire set, so treating the tie-break as an odd game and having the other team serve first to start the next set just evens that out.
 
Top