Bouncing on the 'tube' at the bottom of the net on indoor court, counted as a bounce?

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by hlkimfung, Dec 3, 2007.

  1. hlkimfung

    hlkimfung Semi-Pro

    Mar 10, 2004
    I was playing on an indoor court, where the net is fixed on portable trolley, with a tube in the middle and two L-shape stands on each side, like the one used at the Sampras/Fed match.

    My opponent plays a drop shot just clear the net and bounce on the tube first. I rundown the shot and hit the ball after it bounce again on the ground. My opponent stops and said the ball bounce twice. I said the tube is part of the net not part of the ground, so it counted as ‘let-during-play’, and I can let it bounce once before I hit

    Who’s right?
  2. Commando Tennis Shorts

    Commando Tennis Shorts Hall of Fame

    Jul 17, 2007
    Since the net is technically part of the tube, I would consider your shot legal. . .but maybe that's just me
  3. roundiesee

    roundiesee Hall of Fame

    Feb 20, 2004
    Commando is right; rule number 17 says that "An outgoing ball is still definitely in play until it actually strikes the ground, backstop, a permanent fixture (other than the net, posts, singles sticks, cord or metal cable, strap or band), or a player". So since the tube IS part of the net your friend was wrong to call your shot illegal.

Share This Page