I was playing a match with a guy I've played before whom I always considered fair, sometimes even generous, with his calls. At 4-4, 30-all in the 2nd set, I hit a hard serve which I saw about three inches long. I was preparing for a second serve when the ball came back at my feet. I let it go as I thought we both understood it to be long, although I probably didn't have a play on it anyway. He then called 30-40 and I was stunned. In all fairness, he may have been focused on the return and not seen that the ball was long or that I was preparing for a second offering, but nonetheless... What exactly is the rule in this case. Does the returner have the right to play an out serve? Does the server have the right to call his own serve out, even if the returner has smacked it for a winner? Hmmmmm.