Doubles--first set loss, switch sides?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by ten10, Dec 24, 2008.

  1. ten10

    ten10 Rookie

    Nov 19, 2007
    Wondering how many like to switch sides (deuce, ad) after a first set lost with someone you haven't played with before.

    Even though we lost our first set 6-1, we were on the sides we felt were best for us. Still with that loss, we were a little tempted. I thought I'd discovered the weaknesses that would help us so we stayed. Won the second set 6-1 and then the tie-breaker (3rd set rule).

    I think this is especially hard to decide if a team is playing together for the first time.
  2. raiden031

    raiden031 Legend

    Aug 31, 2006
    If its practice, I don't like to change a thing so I can figure out what went wrong. If its a league or tourney match, then I will switch it up because obviously something wasn't working.
  3. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Apr 29, 2007
    I dont think it's great to really change anything unless there is a good reason for it. (like it's obvious that someone is struggling on one side)
  4. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Jun 2, 2006
    The Great NW
    If whatever you used to decide to choose your original sides is still working but you just happened to lose the set (remember 50% of us lose every time), I would not change. However, if you made the choice suspecting things would work a certain way and you guys find out that it didn't really work out that way, I'd change.
  5. joshburger

    joshburger Guest

    i would switch if its not working unless u are each positive that you are on the best side folr u, if only one of you are or if you are both unsure you sholuld definantly switch
  6. beckham

    beckham Semi-Pro

    Apr 27, 2008
    If its really not working my partner and i will switch.we might also depending on our opponets serve pattern(consistency,side,ect) also gives them a different look, and may help even it out

Share This Page