Ferrer-Malisse**Spoiler**

aj_m2009

Professional
Malisse was up 6-3 and it was tied at 5-5 in the 2nd set when Malisse was defaulted. If someone knows why he was defaulted would you please tell us. Thanks.
 

gugafanatic

Hall of Fame
malisse is a great player, i remember he made to the semis? of wimby. Why hasnt he come through with the other younger players during hes time. for example roddick
 

!Tym

Hall of Fame
gugafanatic said:
malisse is a great player, i remember he made to the semis? of wimby. Why hasnt he come through with the other younger players during hes time. for example roddick
Because he's a head case, and he can't rely on any single one, big shot to save himself from being a headcase...aka Goran.

In other words, even though he's talented; he still has to play the point. Goran could be checking his head for dandruff and still hold serve through a snow storm.
 

Matt H.

Professional
i posted this in the other thread:

I was at that match, sitting in the front row.

Let me tell you....Malissee did NOT curse out the lines woman. The ironic part was that Ferrer was tossing his racquet all match. He received a racquet abuse warning, and after a linesman calling one of X's shots in and Ferrer thought it was out, HE TOOK A BALL AND STRUCK IT WITH THIS RACQUET AT THE LINESMAN!!! Everyone was stunned, yet the umpire did nothing.


Now, onto Malisse. In that 3-3 game, the lineswoman called foot fault on Malisee 2 points in a row. Then, on the 3rd point Ferrer hit his shot clearly long, yet the lineswoman said nothing and thought it was good. Malisee threw his racquet and said to the umpire "are you F'n kidding me!?!? You mean to tell me she can see 2 foot faults, (then he turns to face the woman) yet you miss one that's a whole ball out!"

A few seconds later some kind of tournament official hops the fence and came running to the court and defaulted Malisee. Apparently the official thought Malisee said something else, and Malisee kept saying no and that all he said was "whole ball out"

That's how it went down, and i was standing 15 feet away.
 

aj_m2009

Professional
Matt H. said:
i posted this in the other thread:

I was at that match, sitting in the front row.

Let me tell you....Malissee did NOT curse out the lines woman. The ironic part was that Ferrer was tossing his racquet all match. He received a racquet abuse warning, and after a linesman calling one of X's shots in and Ferrer thought it was out, HE TOOK A BALL AND STRUCK IT WITH THIS RACQUET AT THE LINESMAN!!! Everyone was stunned, yet the umpire did nothing.


Now, onto Malisse. In that 3-3 game, the lineswoman called foot fault on Malisee 2 points in a row. Then, on the 3rd point Ferrer hit his shot clearly long, yet the lineswoman said nothing and thought it was good. Malisee threw his racquet and said to the umpire "are you F'n kidding me!?!? You mean to tell me she can see 2 foot faults, (then he turns to face the woman) yet you miss one that's a whole ball out!"

A few seconds later some kind of tournament official hops the fence and came running to the court and defaulted Malisee. Apparently the official thought Malisee said something else, and Malisee kept saying no and that all he said was "whole ball out"

That's how it went down, and i was standing 15 feet away.
Thats ********. Ferrer should have been defaulted first for what he did.
 

VamosRafa

Hall of Fame
I wasn't at the match, but Malisse gave an interview a short while ago. Here's what I've written about it, FYI:

As some of you may have heard, Malisse was defaulted yesterday for abusing a lineswoman. The Belgium press is all over it, but there hasn't been much reported here. Apparently the match was over, with Malisse winning, but he was very unhappy about a few line calls -- especially some footfaults. So he said something to the lineswoman. And then he was defaulted for abuse.

In his interview, he defended his actions, saying it's all a big misunderstanding. He says he did not say what he's being accused of saying -- he didn't say what it was. He said he would admit it if he was wrong or made a mistake (and he has done so in the past), but he's going to stand up for himself here, as he believes he has been wronged. He says he would admit it, and take the lumps, if he had done it. He reiterated he didn't saying anything.

On the shuttle over, a coach was discussing the matter, and he said that they were moving into damage control mode for "X.". He said Xavier likely will be fined, and that he could even be suspended. It's pretty serious, and they were having a meeting about it today. Some kind of "board" was going to be talking about it.
 

gugafanatic

Hall of Fame
MALLISE SHOULD ATTEMPT TO REINSTATE HIMSELF IN THE TOURNAMENT IF HE IS NOT GUILTY. A player has the right to get angry if he deems the ball clearly out and an official thinks otherwise.
 
Top