Gaston fined €133,000(!) for deliberately cheating at Madrid Masters

Fabresque

Legend
Hugo Gaston just incurred a massive fine by the ATP for purposely throwing a ball on court during a point in order to force a let. This was done on Coric’s set point. The umpire told him off and Coric went on to win 6-3 6-3.

Still, €133,000 seems insanely high.

Incident in question


EDIT: Apparently he was given a stern warning and another fine at the tail end of last season for attempting to pull the same thing. The usual limit to a fine at a M1000 is €60,000, but on the chance that an incident is repeated within the calendar year, the ATP decides the fine. Not the tournament. He’s lost all his YTD prize money due to the fine.
 

Terenigma

G.O.A.T.
He intentionally cheated and according to the article I read on this, he has previously done this before and been warned so this is not an accident. Fine is justified although again from the article it seems the fine will be halved if he can stay clean for a year but I see nothing wrong here. Cheater cheated and got punished.
 

Mark-Touch

Legend
Without having read the article could you briefly explain what he did exactly?
Looking at the video you posted I see him gently tossing a ball to the right.
It didn't even look like the point was being played.

A little more explanation of his offense would be appreciated.
 

Mark-Touch

Legend
cliff's notes? he rolled a ball as coric was serving, DB move

I still don't get it. After watching that brief clip it wasn't as if Coric was in the middle of his serve when he did it.
He did it before the serve. It was so lame.
ANYONE could see him toss the ball.

What was he trying to achieve? Disrupt Coric's serve routine?
Coric just walked away after he did it.

I'm still confused by Gaston's move.
 

Airspun

Professional
I still don't get it. After watching that brief clip it wasn't as if Coric was in the middle of his serve when he did it.
He did it before the serve. It was so lame.
ANYONE could see him toss the ball.

What was he trying to achieve? Disrupt Coric's serve routine?
Coric just walked away after he did it.

I'm still confused by Gaston's move.
incorrect coric WAS in the serve routine and Gaston clearly did it too distract and hinder him like that band hinder lips of an angel
 

KC!

Professional
"French tennis player Hugo Gaston was fined 144,000 euros (about $155,000) by the ATP Tour — more than he’s collected in prize money so far in 2023 — for pulling a ball out of pocket during play"
 

Mark-Touch

Legend
incorrect coric WAS in the serve routine and Gaston clearly did it too distract and hinder him like that band hinder lips of an angel
But his entire move was ABSURD!
So he disrupts his serve rhythm.
The serve needs to be replayed.
What's Gaston's next ridiculous move going to be?

I mean really. This was the epitome of STUPID!
Was he trying to be funny?
 

tennis3

Hall of Fame
Really no different than what NBA, NFL and Soccer Players do on a regular basis. And they're praised for it.

All are just trying to fool the refs to get a call in their advantage. In other sports, if you don't do these things you get criticized

But tennis culture is more like golf culture. In golf, if you might have touched a grain of sand with our club, or the ball could have conceivably moved a millimeter as you walked by, you are expected to call a penalty on yourself (or get defaulted).

In basketball if you said "no ref, he didn't really foul me, I just acted like I got hit by a truck and flopped around like a fish", you'll get kicked off the team and ostracized by the league for "not trying hard enough".
 
Last edited:

Mark-Touch

Legend
incorrect coric WAS in the serve routine and Gaston clearly did it too distract and hinder him like that band hinder lips of an angel
Are you sure Airspun?

It is very rare that a receiver holds a ball on his person. All balls are usually on the server's side.
 

big ted

Legend
i dont get it.. didnt kyrgios & paire used to do stuff like this and get fined maybe $13,000?
they didnt call it cheating tho they called it tanking
 
He intentionally cheated and according to the article I read on this, he has previously done this before and been warned so this is not an accident. Fine is justified although again from the article it seems the fine will be halved if he can stay clean for a year but I see nothing wrong here. Cheater cheated and got punished.
A fine is justified yes, a $150,000 fine is not. Thats so insane... this situation was just silly and comical its not like he went over and punched coric in the face
 

Max G.

Legend
But his entire move was ABSURD!
So he disrupts his serve rhythm.
The serve needs to be replayed.
What's Gaston's next ridiculous move going to be?

I mean really. This was the epitome of STUPID!
Was he trying to be funny?
It wasn't during Coric's serve. Coric was backing up to hit an overhead from the baseline, and Gaston tossed the ball on to the court so it would be called a let.
 
Top