Head Hunting @ high school matches

Discussion in 'Junior League & Tournament Talk' started by Mark Vessels, May 17, 2007.

  1. Mark Vessels

    Mark Vessels Guest

    O.k. Tennis Coaches are not even tennis intelligent enough to know that head hunting is illegal in matches but this guy with a killer serve and overhead just kept killing us in doubles. Kinda of mad but went for him too. Slmost got him
  2. boobik2371

    boobik2371 Semi-Pro

    Jul 15, 2006
    Head hunting?
  3. iplaybetter

    iplaybetter Hall of Fame

    Apr 3, 2007
    behind you, but i have to be somewhere else by the
    i had 4 shots taken at my head, two over heads, and two serves, while i was at net during doubles, not returning
    this is ms #1 doubles, the same guy also made a ton of bad calls
  4. N4n45h1

    N4n45h1 Rookie

    Nov 12, 2006
    i nearly got hit a few times also....
    but i still won =D when they aimed at my head i would dodge it and they would land out
  5. AgassiFan12

    AgassiFan12 New User

    Aug 2, 2006
    I don't know that it's illegal, it's certainly not very nice but I haven't heard of a rule that outlaws hitting someone during a match.
  6. DrewRafter8

    DrewRafter8 Professional

    Jun 1, 2004
    In NC 3A, we don't necessarily have a rule against head hunting. As a Coach, I can tell you that there's no such rule b/c of the amount of "non" tennis playing coaches. They don't know the USTA regs from the NCHSAA regs. However, I saw my players do this in one match and I chewed them out. They also did quite a bit of running afterwards. High School players represent their school and they have to always remember that. Also, this is a "gentlemen's game."
    Last edited: May 17, 2007
  7. Matt_MS

    Matt_MS Rookie

    Apr 30, 2007
    Head hunting isn't illegal at all, and if you're on the run for a ball that you would otherwise hit out, it may be a good idea to occasionally aim for the net player.

    But other than that, you should be hitting passing shots, not target practice.
  8. zzzbrianxxx

    zzzbrianxxx Rookie

    Oct 28, 2006
    This isn't illegal at all. You don't HAVE to be at the net. Your whining about it. Just because your at the net he's not allowed to hit in your direction? Don't be ridiculous. I don't care if it's at your body or at your head, it's part of the game.
  9. DRtenniS1112

    DRtenniS1112 Semi-Pro

    Dec 29, 2005
    Head hunting is not illegal!
  10. 103xStateChamp

    103xStateChamp Rookie

    Apr 4, 2007
    I do it if I dont like the kid or if he makes bad calls or if he's really ugly..lol
  11. XhotXEX1290

    XhotXEX1290 Rookie

    Feb 12, 2007
    Head hunting is legal...if you can't take the heat get out of the kitchen...lol common cliche
  12. Hedges

    Hedges Guest

    IMO, hitting at the net man is a valid tactic of intimidation with the goal of taking the net away from the opponents...a primary goal in doubles.

    It is considered bad taste if
    1) The match is non-competitive or it is one-sided.
    2) One could have *more* *easily* hit a winner into the open court.
    3) The match is mixed doubles.

    People who don't understand this get upset when this tactic is employed. Just sincerely apologize: "I'm really sorry, but this is a competitive situation and not social tennis. If I were you, I'd back off the net."

    It is no different than hitting lobs or drop shots. Of course, it is bad taste to drop shot a seriously overweight person in a one-sided match. But, it certainly isn't illegal.

    Tennis is a gentleman's game...but so is war ;-)
  13. 103xStateChamp

    103xStateChamp Rookie

    Apr 4, 2007
    LOL I play with my fat friend all the time he has a mean serve but it is so easy to drop shot him lol he is sometimes by doubles partner for small tournaments
    Last edited: May 20, 2007

Share This Page