Discussion in 'Pro Match Results and Discussion' started by T-Noone, Sep 10, 2013.
Clarification please? They should be the same...
Not all points are necessarily counted. My guess is that based on rules some of his tournaments don't count. I think his first tournament didnt count.
Looking at his points breakdown at http://www.atpworldtour.com/Tennis/Players/Top-Players/Rafael-Nadal.aspx?t=rb , he has two zeros counted and one 150 not counted.
Typically, "you have to count this tournament even though you didn't play it" is a penalty for skipping the tournament when you had committed to play or something like that. I think if you withdraw at the last moment you're supposed to show up and do promotional activities and sign some autographs or something, I don't remember. If you don't do that the tournament counts as a zero on your record, and you can't replace it with a better result for 12 months.
I don't remember the details for either of the two zeros he has on his record. They're from late last year - october 1st and 21st. There's a 150-point result from this year that isn't counted because those are counted instead.
When october is past, those two "results" will come off his record, the 150 points from reaching the final in Vina del Mar will count instead.
They might have to do with the masters tournaments he skipped? Players of a certain rank must play 8 of the 9 masters...if you play less than that you get a forced zero that can't come.off.
Plus only so many 500s and 250s can count as well, as only 18 tournaments can count.
The 4 majors
8 of the 9 masters
The other 6 can come from anywhere not of the above
I think that's how it works
As to the OPs question that might help answer, he skipped some events and some of the 500s he play may not count because he has passed the limit. I think only 2 500 events can count.
I may be wrong though.
I get what you all are saying, but then shouldn't those non-countable tournaments not be included in YTD points either? That would make sense to me....anyways thanks.
No, Rafa can skip a Masters tourny w/o penalty as he has played 600+ matches. I think next year he can skip two w/o penalty. If you're 31+, you can skip them all w/o penalty.
His 0s are b/c he didn't play a 500 event after the USO last year or 4 total 500s last year. As soon as he plays at least one match in a 500 post USO that 0 will come off and his non-countable points can count. Monte Carlo also counts as a 500, so he only needs to play one after USO since he already has Barcelona/Acapulco/Monte Carlo.
No, because his 0-pointers have a drop date in 2013.
That means Nadal could have a greater total in a few weeks even if he doesn't play at all.
You should look at ranking points breakdown, it isn't rocket science.
I don't think so. I think a 0-pointer comes off at its drop date and no sooner.
Oh I didn't mean that it could come off sooner, just that it wouldn't be valid anymore.
Oh, I see what you meant to explain now.
Simple - because you miscounted
It's b/c vina del mar is not countable (150 points).
All players can have 18 tournaments that go towards their 52 week ranking. Top players (above ranking of 30 in the previous years) have 16 mandatory events in their ranking (4 slams, 8 masters of which monte-carlo does not count, and 4 500-level events).
That leaves all palyers with two events outside they can use to bring up their numbers. In Nadal's case those two events are Monte-Carlo and Sao Paulo. Therefore Vina del Mar does not count.
Separate names with a comma.