HOw many Lets allowed before a fault??

halalula1234

Professional
I was just thinking about this and i am curious.

How many let is a player allowed to served before ther serve is called a fault??

Is it a certain number? or is it that u can keep letting forever?
 

halalula1234

Professional
i remembered.. and asked this because

I once saw on tv at the 2008 aus open..

a guy hit about 6 lets in a row..
and on the 6th one it was called a fault. and i thought it landed in. turned out it was close but didnt land in so i was wrong along thinking that 6 lets before its a fault:oops:
 
i remembered.. and asked this because

I once saw on tv at the 2008 aus open..

a guy hit about 6 lets in a row..
and on the 6th one it was called a fault. and i thought it landed in. turned out it was close but didnt land in so i was wrong along thinking that 6 lets before its a fault:oops:

haha reminded me of my partner in a tournament, he hit 5 lets in a row, on his 6 serve it hit the net went high up and landed just barely out. on the 2nd serve he hit another let and on the 2nd serve of the 2nd serve... (that's a weird way to say it) he hit the top of the net and it landed on our side for a double fault. that point was the longest one of the match.

O and of course this was on break point at 4-all.
 
I play tennis socially on a sunday with a few friends. We have a rule that says 3 lets in a row and you buy a case of beer. The last time it has been done was about 10+ years ago. Well, that was before I did it a few weeks ago.
 

JeMar

Legend
I play tennis socially on a sunday with a few friends. We have a rule that says 3 lets in a row and you buy a case of beer. The last time it has been done was about 10+ years ago. Well, that was before I did it a few weeks ago.

I hit 5 lets in a row once. Then I double faulted.


:-?
 

peppe

New User
there was a tournament 5 or so years back,where A-Rod hit 3 or 4 lets in a row,and then made a bet with the umpire as to whether his next serve would be a let... and he won..
 
Top