Going into the last weekend of a USTA flight, the 2nd and 3rd place teams were set to face off and all other matches finished. The 1st screen shot shows standings going into it.
The last place team then decides to forfeit and default all 3 courts. After the defaults are entered, the 2nd place team moves up as illustrated in the 2nd screen shot.
Here’s where it gets interesting. The last place team defaulted 3 courts to the 1st place team also (including one double default), with their final head to head being 1-2. They were 0-2 going into the last match and the 2nd place team was 1-2 vs. the 1st place team (but the matches were close). So each team got 3 defaults but only one got an all-match default win. I’m trying to interpret the rules but have no idea how this plays out. Not sure if it’s relevant, but this last match was rescheduled from early in the season.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk