Is aiming the shot at your opponent body considered disrespectful?

Is it?


  • Total voters
    104

Purplemonster

Hall of Fame
Not to the extent where you start taking a full fledged whack at them. You can dislike someone and still be civil. Not much of an ask, really.
Actually no, aiming for the body when your opponent is at the net is within the rules. No big deal. If a player or fan can’t handle it, play or watch ballet. Making your opponent wait and delaying them when they are serving is wrong as it’s against the rules.
 

haqq777

Legend
Actually no, aiming for the body when your opponent is at the net is within the rules. No big deal. If a player or fan can’t handle it, play or watch ballet. Making your opponent wait and delaying them when they are serving is wrong as it’s against the rules.
Never said aiming for the body wasn't within rules. Re-read my post before jumping to conclusions.
 

Purplemonster

Hall of Fame
Never said aiming for the body wasn't within rules. Re-read my post before jumping to conclusions.
Trying to hit your opponent because you don’t like them still falls under aiming for the body. Lendl used to do the same thing to McEnroe. They were grown men with balls back then. It’s part of the sport. Sport and society in general are too soft these days.
 

roysid

Hall of Fame
It was nothing wrong.
From baseline hitting at opponents body at net is an accepted practice.

- Nadal hit towards Kyrgios a few times when Kyrgios was at net. But everytime he was collies.
- Nadal hit Djokovic at the body badly at Montreal 2013 when both were closely at the net. Djokovic was badly pissed.

If Kyrgios had apologized immediately, it won't be an issue
 

Luka888

Hall of Fame
I think we are not actually arguing. He said he aimed for him which is fine, he didn’t lie. I think the fake apology is worse. I don’t think Nick would have smashed a lollipop at Nadal, this was a good shot from distance. Why apologies for something you mean? For you it would have ok for Nick to apologize even though he doesn’t mean it? Or would you prefer to force him to comply to your system of beliefs?
uh, oh ... like what? You have nothing better to offer as a player than to aim Nadal's chest literally and this is acceptable to you. What fake apology? What are you talking about? What fake believes? What is yous system of 'believes'? Do whatever you feel like it. Give me a break.

We, in Canada apologize for everything. You go to the store, you accidentally touch someone with your cart, you apologize. They respond 'no problem, I'm sorry I was in your way'. That's how it works. Basic culture. Everyone is happy.
 

Luka888

Hall of Fame
It was nothing wrong.
From baseline hitting at opponents body at net is an accepted practice.

- Nadal hit towards Kyrgios a few times when Kyrgios was at net. But everytime he was collies.
- Nadal hit Djokovic at the body badly at Montreal 2013 when both were closely at the net. Djokovic was badly pissed.

If Kyrgios had apologized immediately, it won't be an issue
That was my point too. Lift up you racquet and it's the end of story.
 

Azure

Legend
That was my point too. Lift up you racquet and it's the end of story.
I saw a tit for tat scenario - Kyrgios did not apologize and later when he had a tumble, Rafa did not bother to check on him. Any other player and Rafa would have checked on the opponent.
 

Dartagnan64

G.O.A.T.
Much of the excitement around many sports is the real chance of danger. Why can’t we accept coming to the net has a risk and players need to deal with it.

Imagine if a pitcher apologized for every inside fastball. A defensive end apologized for every quarter back sack. A NASCAR driver for every tight passing move.

Unless the opponent is defenseless, no apology necessary. And I’m Canadian.
 

sleepyeg

New User
I have always thought that tennis players who complained about someone hitting the ball at them to be pretty ridiculous. Seems more than a little sissified to me. It's a freaking tennis ball, not a golf ball or a baseball. Has anyone ever been seriously injured by a tennis ball? I could see maybe a bloody nose or something. Even if it has happened, it has to be exceedingly rare. Usually the worst that can happen is you get a red mark on your skin.

That said, I agree with haqq777 that it's good form to at least raise your hand in apology afterward, even if it isn't sincere :)
Got hit once on the private part.... ball clipped the net and missed the volley. Had to go to the Doc, it gave blue balls a different meaning.......
 

mika1979

Professional
uh, oh ... like what? You have nothing better to offer as a player than to aim Nadal's chest literally and this is acceptable to you. What fake apology? What are you talking about? What fake believes? What is yous system of 'believes'? Do whatever you feel like it. Give me a break.

We, in Canada apologize for everything. You go to the store, you accidentally touch someone with your cart, you apologize. They respond 'no problem, I'm sorry I was in your way'. That's how it works. Basic culture. Everyone is happy.
That’s your culture, and please let it stay in Canada. It’s a world game. Everyone has the right to dislike someone, I find it offensive that you are trying to force your values on other people. It is really sad that such totaliterian beliefs fester in this world.
 

Rafa24

Hall of Fame
Body shot and trying to hit your opponent are the same thing.
not when the player says he was trying to hit the guy in the chest. most of the time it's done because you can't get the racket on them good like a "body serve". Body serves aren't to hit the opponent it's to jam them up.
 

Purplemonster

Hall of Fame
not when the player says he was trying to hit the guy in the chest. most of the time it's done because you can't get the racket on them good like a "body serve". Body serves aren't to hit the opponent it's to jam them up.
Salty whiny crybaby Nadal should be able to handle a tennis ball to the chest. Isn’t he supposed to be a bull ?? Sorry I forgot he is the guy who still sleeps with the light on.
 

Sentinel

Bionic Poster
Rafa did not purposely aim to hit Djoko, and he apologized!

Kyrgios at his press conference: "Yeah, I was going for him [Rafa]. Yeah, I wanted to hit him square in the chest."
Has Nadal ever apologised for exceeding the time limit of serving. Has he apologised for threatening the umpires that they would never umpire his matches ?
 

Thundergod

Professional
As long as he's not trying to get a headshot, I think it's fine. Especially vs Nadal I think it's a good strategy to hit straight at him once since things like that throw Nadal off more than most.
 

octobrina10

G.O.A.T.
Has Nadal ever apologised for exceeding the time limit of serving. Has he apologised for threatening the umpires that they would never umpire his matches ?
I wonder what's the connection between your reply and my post you replied to? :unsure:

Has Djoko ever apologised for exceeding the time limit of serving?

As for Rafa's request not to be umpired by Carlos Bernardes, ATP spokesman Simon Higson said that "requests such as this are not uncommon".
ESPN, May May 27, 2015: ¤¤ ATP spokesman Simon Higson said the tour wouldn't comment on any specific decisions related to how it picks chair umpires for matches. Speaking generally about a player asking for a certain umpire to be kept away from his matches, Higson wrote in an email: "Requests such as this are not uncommon, either from the player or the umpire." ¤¤

There is peace between Rafa and Carlos Bernardes. Last summer, Bernardes preferred to umpire at the Challenger tournament held at Rafa’s academy in Mallorca, instead of umpiring at the USO:
 

Wurm

Semi-Pro
I have always thought that tennis players who complained about someone hitting the ball at them to be pretty ridiculous. Seems more than a little sissified to me. It's a freaking tennis ball, not a golf ball or a baseball.
I do keep finding myself saying to people I've been hit by a lot worse than a tennis ball - as in a fist to the face in a ruck playing rugby, a football (the round kind) to the side of the head from close range when I refused to turn my back on someone winding up to hit a long range shot and a cricket ball, albeit not standing at any of the "I want to die" fielding positions such as silly mid-off.

The only thing that worries me about a tennis ball is that my glasses might get knocked off and damaged, but then that's partly my own fault for wearing glasses instead of contacts (which are simply not an option) and I always carry around a spare pair of glasses for tennis matches anyway in the event of them getting damaged.

Besides, Lendl was my favourite player growing up and he wasn't afraid of pegging someone at the net. When did this thin skin to the idea arise?
 
Last edited:

blablavla

Legend
You are at Wimbledon and the less skilled player. This isn't a rec match or a 4th rate tournament. Someone please explain this to me? How do you whine about a ball hit hard in your direction?
did you ever faced the tennis ball coming at your chest at this speed from this distance?
 

blablavla

Legend
Actually no, aiming for the body when your opponent is at the net is within the rules. No big deal. If a player or fan can’t handle it, play or watch ballet. Making your opponent wait and delaying them when they are serving is wrong as it’s against the rules.
yes and no.
technically it might be within the rules.
but let's not forget that this is a gentleman sport, where there is so much more than written rules.

would NK do the same vs Federer? I doubt it.
If he has a problem with Nadal, he could defeat him on the tennis court, invite for a box sparring, or a Mio of other things, but not trying to hit him with a tennis ball.

If I am not mistaken, the official checking for ball touching the net at serve either died, or had severe consequences after a serve accidentally hit him in the head. By the way, did it happen at Wimbledon in the past?
So, aiming at the body of your opponent, with full pace from short distance can be dangerous. No excuse here.
 

mauricem

Rookie
Check out 2nd set 4-3 30-40 nadal serving. (sorry no vid to link that I could find.)Nadal definitely tries to hit kyrgios at net. Difference is Kyrgios puts it away for a winning volley;)
oh, amd no apology from nadal
 

blablavla

Legend
"requests such as this are not uncommon".
Do you understand the difference between:
"not uncommon" vs this is very standard practice, every other touring pro submitted a list of umpires they don't want to ever face

Such officials use double negation, is when they try to soften things, and they can't really say that this is business as usual, in this case business as usual for any touring pro in ATP tour.
 

reaper

Legend
yes and no.
technically it might be within the rules.
but let's not forget that this is a gentleman sport, where there is so much more than written rules.

would NK do the same vs Federer? I doubt it.
If he has a problem with Nadal, he could defeat him on the tennis court, invite for a box sparring, or a Mio of other things, but not trying to hit him with a tennis ball.

If I am not mistaken, the official checking for ball touching the net at serve either died, or had severe consequences after a serve accidentally hit him in the head. By the way, did it happen at Wimbledon in the past?
So, aiming at the body of your opponent, with full pace from short distance can be dangerous. No excuse here.
Federer quite often hits the ball straight at the opponent, so no reason not to hit it at him. The fatality I think you're referring too was a linesman in the 1983 US Open junior tournament in which in an extraordinary set of circumstances Edberg hit a serve, it struck the seated linesman in the groin, causing a sharp burst of pain such that he toppled from his chair, struck his head on the Flushing Meadow cement and subsequently died as a result. That's why line judges now stand during play. If being hit by a tennis ball was ordinarily dangerous then playing doubles would be a dangerous sport, and centre line service judges would be as rare as hens teeth.
 

octobrina10

G.O.A.T.
Do you understand the difference between:
"not uncommon" vs this is very standard practice, every other touring pro submitted a list of umpires they don't want to ever face

Such officials use double negation, is when they try to soften things, and they can't really say that this is business as usual, in this case business as usual for any touring pro in ATP tour.
I perfectly understood that there was nothing extraordinary about Rafa's request.
 

junior74

G.O.A.T.
A tennis player aims at his opponent if he will not take the risk of passing him. He will take the point and say "sorry".

But he isn't sorry, he is happy - happy that he has won the point, and happy because he knows the opponent will be a little shaky. Just like when you opponent falls. You know the next two points are yours, because his timing will be off for the next minute or so, because his mind will be elsewhere. Good for you.

This is the exact same thing Rafa is doing when he makes the server wait over and over (although this is against the rules, body shot isn't)
 

Searah

Semi-Pro
i think as long as you say sorry or give the hand afterwards even if it was intentional. it's still a strategy. personally i've never gone for the body shots despite having it done to me constantly.
 

blablavla

Legend
Federer quite often hits the ball straight at the opponent, so no reason not to hit it at him. The fatality I think you're referring too was a linesman in the 1983 US Open junior tournament in which in an extraordinary set of circumstances Edberg hit a serve, it struck the seated linesman in the groin, causing a sharp burst of pain such that he toppled from his chair, struck his head on the Flushing Meadow cement and subsequently died as a result. That's why line judges now stand during play. If being hit by a tennis ball was ordinarily dangerous then playing doubles would be a dangerous sport, and centre line service judges would be as rare as hens teeth.
1. I think it happened in the ATP Tour, and to my memory on grass, but I didn't google for it, so won't argue on details
2. point is that it doesn't matter if Federer does it or NK, aiming with the ball in the body can have severe consequences. It depends on details.
- Aiming and hitting the chest will probably be relatively fine,
- aiming the chest and hitting the head, might end up differently
+ it depends from which distance it happens + the speed of the ball. When it happens from the baseline, and the ball flies at 120-150 km/h, the pro has enough time to react.
 

reaper

Legend
A tennis player aims at his opponent if he will not take the risk of passing him. He will take the point and say "sorry".

But he isn't sorry, he is happy - happy that he has won the point, and happy because he knows the opponent will be a little shaky. Just like when you opponent falls. You know the next two points are yours, because his timing will be off for the next minute or so, because his mind will be elsewhere. Good for you.

This is the exact same thing Rafa is doing when he makes the server wait over and over (although this is against the rules, body shot isn't)
The body shot was part of an interesting little series of points. The point prior Kyrgios was at net and Nadal had a high forehand. Kyrgios anticipated Nadal would drill him so went running for cover. Nadal hit the ball into the open court. The next point Nadal was in the ascendancy and had an easy short forehand. Instead of nailing it he put far too much topspin on the ball, resulting in the ball just sitting up begging to be hit. Nadal followed his shot in and it was given precisely what it deserved as Kyrgios clubbed it like an exocet missile straight at him. A rattled Nadal then double faulted, so it got Kyrgios an extra point. There were a couple of subsequent points where Nadal was hesitant to move forward seemingly remembering what happened when he came in previously on a poor approach shot.
 

octobrina10

G.O.A.T.
i think as long as you say sorry or give the hand afterwards even if it was intentional. it's still a strategy. personally i've never gone for the body shots despite having it done to me constantly.
Kyrgios explained he did not apologise because Rafa is successful and rich. :eek:

"I was going for him. Yeah, I wanted to hit him square in the chest. Like, he's got decent hands," said 24-year-old Kyrgios.

"Why would I apologise? I mean, the dude has got how many slams, how much money in the bank account.

"I think he can take a ball to the chest, bro. I'm not going to apologise to him at all."
 

junior74

G.O.A.T.
The body shot was part of an interesting little series of points. The point prior Kyrgios was at net and Nadal had a high forehand. Kyrgios anticipated Nadal would drill him so went running for cover. Nadal hit the ball into the open court. The next point Nadal was in the ascendancy and had an easy short forehand. Instead of nailing it he put far too much topspin on the ball, resulting in the ball just sitting up begging to be hit. Nadal followed his shot in and it was given precisely what it deserved as Kyrgios clubbed it like an exocet missile straight at him. A rattled Nadal then double faulted, so it got Kyrgios an extra point. There were a couple of subsequent points where Nadal was hesitant to move forward seemingly remembering what happened when he came in previously on a poor approach shot.
Correct. It's a well known tactic, which mostly works against the victim. At least for the next couple of points, as you say.

The tactic where you make your opponent wait when he is serving - is very uncommon. Nadal does it like 10 times in every match against Kyrgios (and other quick players). He does it because he knows they get annoyed and lose rhythm and concentration. To me, this is "winning ugly" - as opposed to the body shot, which is legitimate in tennis.
 

reaper

Legend
1. I think it happened in the ATP Tour, and to my memory on grass, but I didn't google for it, so won't argue on details
2. point is that it doesn't matter if Federer does it or NK, aiming with the ball in the body can have severe consequences. It depends on details.
- Aiming and hitting the chest will probably be relatively fine,
- aiming the chest and hitting the head, might end up differently
+ it depends from which distance it happens + the speed of the ball. When it happens from the baseline, and the ball flies at 120-150 km/h, the pro has enough time to react.
It's just an ordinary and very low level risk of the sport. If your opponent hits it at you and your reaction is too slow there's a very remote possibility the ball might cause an injury. That doesn't make the shot illegitimate.
 

Sentinel

Bionic Poster
As for Rafa's request not to be umpired by Carlos Bernardes, ATP spokesman Simon Higson said that "requests such as this are not uncommon".
ok, great reply.

Then all I can say is that hitting the opponent with a ball from across the net is also not uncommon.
 
Top