Is it legal to use your body as a shield at the net?

Bottle Rocket

Hall of Fame
You can do whatever you want with you body.

If the ball hits your body, no matter how, why, or when, you lose the point.
 

Douggo

Semi-Pro
Usually, when I've hit a weak lob that is about to be smashed down my throat, I'll throw a flying cross-body block into my opponent's midsection. Sure, I lose the point, but subsequent weak lobs become a little less routine for my opponent.
 

samizram

Rookie
I'm a masochist. I don't mind hurting myself to win, so I would've used that to my advantage.
No, you're not a masochist, you're just unsporting. You missed the boat on what sport is all about.

To cheat your way out of having to return a shot, you would make your opponent hit out or elsewhere, because you have made him fear hitting you.

You prey on his decency. That's why the rules say that he can hit wherever he wants into your court, and that if you get, YOU lose the point, not him. That's what rules are for = to establish fair play. Sorry.
 
You can do whatever you want with you body.

If the ball hits your body, no matter how, why, or when, you lose the point.
yes but...

if the ball hits the hand holding the handle and goes back over, its good.

i know, i didnt think so either until i checked with my coach. she checked the rules and sure enough...
 

woodie55

New User
yes but...

if the ball hits the hand holding the handle and goes back over, its good.

i know, i didnt think so either until i checked with my coach. she checked the rules and sure enough...
According the Rule 24h), where the point is lost, "The ball in play touches the player or anything that the player is wearing or carrying, except the racquet." Now that seems pretty clear and does not mention that if the ball hits the hand holding the racquet the point is not lost. Perhaps you could check with your coach again and get her to cite the rule that overrides this one. If she is right then a lot of points have been lost in the past that should not have been lost.
 

psp2

Banned
yes but...

if the ball hits the hand holding the handle and goes back over, its good.

i know, i didnt think so either until i checked with my coach. she checked the rules and sure enough...
Your coach is wrong. If the ball hits any part of a player's body, then the player loses the point.
 

LazyAzN

Rookie
As everyone else stated, you lose the point if you get hit

USTA Rules

24.
i. The ball in play touches the player or anything that the player is
wearing or carrying, except the racket; or
j. The ball in play touches the racket when the player is not holding it
 
Last edited:
Top