Joachim Johannson can still get into Indian Wells Main Draw!

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by Gregg Furukawa, Mar 12, 2004.

  1. I think there is a good chance that Joachim Johannson will still get into the main draw of Pacific Life Open @ Indian Wells. He will be the first player to get in if someone in the main draw defaults since he is the highest ranked player that lost in the qualifying tourney. When this type of situation occurs they call the player a 'lucky loser'. Iveta Benesova was a 'lucky loser' in the main draw on the women's side.
  2. Ballmachine

    Ballmachine Semi-Pro

    Feb 20, 2004
    Is that true, even though Joachim lost in the first round? I am not sure how the system works, but I thought they took the highest ranked player that made it the furthest in qualies before losing, in the event that one of the main draw players withdraws. Maybe somebody else knows. I hope he does get in, that would be great!
  3. Ooops....I think I was wrong.

    :( Sorry, I think Ballmachine is correct. I think Joakim needed to win his first match in qualies to have any chance of even being considered for a 'lucky loser' spot. Below is something I found on the internet:

    :( Q: What is a "Lucky Loser"?
    A: Not all players who are admitted to a main draw actually play. Many tournaments lose one or more players at the last moment (usually to injury). These players (if they withdraw between the creation of the draw and the completion of the first round) are replaced by Lucky Losers.
    A Lucky Loser is a player who lost in the final round of qualifying but is able to get into the main draw when another player withdraws. Lucky Losers are admitted to the draw in direct ranking order (based on the rankings at the time tournament entries closed). Thus, the highest-ranked player to lose in the final round of qualifying gets the first open position, the next-highest gets the second position if there is one, and so on down. (Note: Lucky losers have to be on hand when the player withdraws.)
    Although these players are called "lucky," getting into a tournament as a lucky loser is not purely lucky. Lucky losers who win a main draw match suffer a penalty: They forfeit the round points (though not the quality points) earned in the qualifying rounds. If they lose their opening main draw match, however, they keep all the qualifying points. Since points in the main draw are always greater than those in qualifying, this is not a large penalty -- but it is a penalty. [Thanks to Geert P. Calliauw for figuring out the way the WTA actually applies this rule. The official rules are somewhat contradictory.]
    We should add that, if a player withdraws after completing her first round match, her opponent simply earns a walkover.

  4. Ariel

    Ariel Rookie

    Feb 18, 2004
    Great quote, PCMD. And y the way, I've read that mosquito withdrawed from IW, so that should open the things a bit for Carlos.
  5. hlkimfung

    hlkimfung Semi-Pro

    Mar 10, 2004
    on some ocassion, when a seeded player withdraw, the tournament would seeded the next highest unseeded player, that's why sometimes a 17th or 33rd seed appeared, and he was moved to replace the withdrawn seeded player, and his slot being filled by the lucky loser

    any idea on under what circumstance this will happen? and when do a lucky loser directly replace the withdrawn player (if seeded)
  6. PureCarlosMoyaDrive

    PureCarlosMoyaDrive Professional

    Feb 11, 2004
    Isn't Gaudio 33 seed now?

    BTW Ariel, that wasn't me, but thanks anyways. Carlos is the man. I got a picture with him in IW that I'll show you all later. He was looking a little sketchy out there playing a practice set with Grosjean, but just mainly sloopy on some easier balls.

Share This Page