Jolly's Kick Serve Challenge

J011yroger

Talk Tennis Guru
#1
You have until February 1st to complete this challenge. Winners of the challenge will receive a prize from me. (US shipping only)

Set up a cone or target in line with the baseline 2 feet outside of the doubles sideline.

Standing with your front foot no further than 1 foot from the center hash, hit a serve that lands in the box and crosses the baseline outside the cone.

Post your videos in this thread.

J
 
#4
Can a kick serve even be done underhanded?
Jolly called it the kick serve challenge, but the rules didn't say anything about a kick serve. Come to think of it, a well placed dink serve can work as well. So maybe specify the ball has to cross the imaginary extension of the baseline before bouncing twice. And righties have to serve to the ad box and lefties to the deuce box. :p
 
#7
You have until February 1st to complete this challenge. Winners of the challenge will receive a prize from me. (US shipping only)

Set up a cone or target in line with the baseline 2 feet outside of the doubles sideline.

Standing with your front foot no further than 1 foot from the center hash, hit a serve that lands in the box and crosses the baseline outside the cone.

Post your videos in this thread.

J
For consistency wear should camera be placed, looking down doubles sideline on servers side?
 

J011yroger

Talk Tennis Guru
#10
Jolly called it the kick serve challenge, but the rules didn't say anything about a kick serve. Come to think of it, a well placed dink serve can work as well. So maybe specify the ball has to cross the imaginary extension of the baseline before bouncing twice. And righties have to serve to the ad box and lefties to the deuce box. :p
Fortunately I judge the winner. I'd be impressed if you could do it with a well placed dink serve.

J
 

LeeD

Bionic Poster
#11
Wouldn't a more effective twist land on the 1st bounce well short of the service line and then bounce WIDE of the doubles sideline by 10 feet as it crosses the baseline?
I can't do it, but a lucky short twist occasionally goes wider than 10 beyond the doubles alley well short of the baseline...at sub 60mph ball speed.
 
#12
You have until February 1st to complete this challenge. Winners of the challenge will receive a prize from me. (US shipping only)

Set up a cone or target in line with the baseline 2 feet outside of the doubles sideline.

Standing with your front foot no further than 1 foot from the center hash, hit a serve that lands in the box and crosses the baseline outside the cone.

Post your videos in this thread.

J
Wouldn't one be able to hit a soft pancake serve from the center hash that hit the intersection of service line and singles sideline that went at least 2' beyond the alley? No kick required? And that's worst-case; even better would be if the serve landed closer to the net.

It may take more than once bounce to get there, though.
 

J011yroger

Talk Tennis Guru
#15
Wouldn't a more effective twist land on the 1st bounce well short of the service line and then bounce WIDE of the doubles sideline by 10 feet as it crosses the baseline?
I can't do it, but a lucky short twist occasionally goes wider than 10 beyond the doubles alley well short of the baseline...at sub 60mph ball speed.
Wouldn't one be able to hit a soft pancake serve from the center hash that hit the intersection of service line and singles sideline that went at least 2' beyond the alley? No kick required? And that's worst-case; even better would be if the serve landed closer to the net.

It may take more than once bounce to get there, though.
You should also specify that the ball has to cross the baseline in one bounce.

Let's see how everybody does before we start making it harder.

J
 

J011yroger

Talk Tennis Guru
#16
Wouldn't a more effective twist land on the 1st bounce well short of the service line and then bounce WIDE of the doubles sideline by 10 feet as it crosses the baseline?
I can't do it, but a lucky short twist occasionally goes wider than 10 beyond the doubles alley well short of the baseline...at sub 60mph ball speed.
Post a video of anyone doing this so the posters know what to do.

J
 

J011yroger

Talk Tennis Guru
#17
Wouldn't one be able to hit a soft pancake serve from the center hash that hit the intersection of service line and singles sideline that went at least 2' beyond the alley? No kick required? And that's worst-case; even better would be if the serve landed closer to the net.

It may take more than once bounce to get there, though.
Post a video, win a prize!

J
 

FiReFTW

Hall of Fame
#19
Can someone exactly explain where what has to be? Im not familiar with these phrases such as doubles alley or whatever, maybe draw it and explain it better, im interested in attempting it, whatever it is.
 
#22
Jolly called it the kick serve challenge, but the rules didn't say anything about a kick serve. Come to think of it, a well placed dink serve can work as well. So maybe specify the ball has to cross the imaginary extension of the baseline before bouncing twice. And righties have to serve to the ad box and lefties to the deuce box. :p
Underhanded with side underspin should work. This is a little more than a dink and It kicks away from the sideline, so it is kick serve. :D
 
#28
Jolly called it the kick serve challenge, but the rules didn't say anything about a kick serve. Come to think of it, a well placed dink serve can work as well. So maybe specify the ball has to cross the imaginary extension of the baseline before bouncing twice. And righties have to serve to the ad box and lefties to the deuce box. :p
 
#29
Post a video, win a prize!

J
You have until February 1st to complete this challenge. Winners of the challenge will receive a prize from me. (US shipping only)

Set up a cone or target in line with the baseline 2 feet outside of the doubles sideline.

Standing with your front foot no further than 1 foot from the center hash, hit a serve that lands in the box and crosses the baseline outside the cone.

Post your videos in this thread.

J
Hopefully the prize is an actual cone...


If this doesnt work because of the lighting let me know I can make another vid.
 
#35
It doesn't work because your front foot isn't within 1' of the center hash.

Still a great serve though.

J
Ok I figured you would be a stickler. Is that camera angle OK? I can do another vid in the daytime weather permitting and stand right on the hash if you like.
 
#41
You're getting closer, just need to start with the front foot within 1 foot of the center hash.

J
You're getting closer, just need to start with the front foot within 1 foot of the center hash.

J
lol... my front foot on that jacked up serve IS within 1 foot. Look the right foot is in front of the left... but ok if you are the pinpoint police I have to go film this week...
 
#44
good news is that is an OLD serve vid and my right foot parks behind the left heel these days. Unlike half these boards, Shroud is constantly improving.

But thanks for noticing....
Both your FH and serve look like they have improved quite a bit -- especially your FH. I cannot say the same for myself. Both have declined.
 
#45
I saw it. Front foot when you start.

J
When I freeze to death remember this. But yeah I can do it legal like. But can a tennis can count as the cone. I can see where this is leading. I do it with the left foot 1' away and pass the tennis can 2' from the doubles alley and J011y says it doesn't count because not a cone...
 
#46
Both your FH and serve look like they have improved quite a bit -- especially your FH. I cannot say the same for myself. Both have declined.
practice man practice, but I bet your declined strokes are better than my improved ones.

Challenges like this also help. You think its easy till the vid starts rolling...
 

J011yroger

Talk Tennis Guru
#47
When I freeze to death remember this. But yeah I can do it legal like. But can a tennis can count as the cone. I can see where this is leading. I do it with the left foot 1' away and pass the tennis can 2' from the doubles alley and J011y says it doesn't count because not a cone...
One way to find out!

J
 
#48
When I freeze to death remember this. But yeah I can do it legal like. But can a tennis can count as the cone. I can see where this is leading. I do it with the left foot 1' away and pass the tennis can 2' from the doubles alley and J011y says it doesn't count because not a cone...
It's not unreasonable for him to expect someone to follow the rules, especially when (a) he made up the the rules., and (b) he is offering a prize. That said, I'm not the official judge, but I think you're off to an early lead in the competition (due to the absence of any challengers so far).
 
#49
It's not unreasonable for him to expect someone to follow the rules, especially when (a) he made up the the rules., and (b) he is offering a prize. That said, I'm not the official judge, but I think you're off to an early lead in the competition (due to the absence of any challengers so far).
half of success in life is just showing up.

FWIW I wasnt serious. I can hit that serve I just dont want to have to go do it this week. Its the time really. I cant just go the court hit a few serves and leave. I will be out there for hours. Its hard to do that when I have work to do...so getting existing vid to count would be nice. Maybe this weekend.

Post your vid man. I know you can hit that serve too.
 
Top