Krajinovic Footfault?

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by ParrotOnStrings, Mar 12, 2018.

  1. ParrotOnStrings

    ParrotOnStrings New User

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Munich
    ha ha... omg.

     
    #1
  2. Firstservingman

    Firstservingman G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18,817
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Wow that was blocked quickly.
    Laaaame.

    Don't use YouTube to upload. They just bend over for copyright claims.
     
    #2
  3. Steve0904

    Steve0904 Talk Tennis Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    22,801
    Fed mafia at work.
     
    damniel, mossi, Meles and 8 others like this.
    #3
  4. imajica77

    imajica77 Professional

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    829
    Like it or not ....it was a foot fault.
     
    FHtennisman likes this.
    #4
  5. FHtennisman

    FHtennisman Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,168
    Yep, immediately after Krajinovic was called, the replay confirmed and vindicated the footfault verdict.
     
    kOaMaster likes this.
    #5
  6. Sum Buddy Ells

    Sum Buddy Ells Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    Deuce Court
    Absolute injustice. The foot fault call, Lahyani not intervening, the heat helping Roger's serve and groundstrokes, the rhythm Roger got for getting to play each day...

    [​IMG]
     
    #6
  7. ParrotOnStrings

    ParrotOnStrings New User

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Munich
    oh, on my tv they didn't show the reason for it, so can you explain?
     
    #7
  8. FHtennisman

    FHtennisman Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,168
    Krajinovic's right foot was over the foot fault line (the small vertical mark on the middle of the baseline) when he was serving.
     
    #8
  9. Racer41c

    Racer41c Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    851
    Clearly obvious, even from the other end of the court. I liked the comment "if your going to foot fault maybe you don't wear Fuschia colored shoes"
     
    Shaolin and jsm1373 like this.
    #9
  10. ParrotOnStrings

    ParrotOnStrings New User

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Munich
    How is the rule exactly, when does one have to be on the side of the serve, when I tap the ball, or when I throw the ball or when I hit the ball?
    Because I watched the recording few times and I could see only like milimeters touching the virtual line with his foot just as the ball leaves his hand. It was impossible for me to realize that until I watched the recording frame by frame. So I ask myself, how can a referee be so sure sitting on the opposite site of the court in that split of a second? Because if you are not dead sure, you should not make that call, especially not on the second serve. I am just wondering what is the exact rule here. just curious because I really never thought about it.

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1puCz2r0zOiXaYZC2_RuKvaWq7Tl17vcL/view?usp=sharing
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2018
    #10
  11. Hmgraphite1

    Hmgraphite1 Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    881
    I heard stated that at the start of the motion foot can't be passed line. So before toss.
     
    #11
  12. Bobby Jr

    Bobby Jr Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9,501
    It must be in the imaginary box for the entire service motion until the ball is struck.

    What that pic shows is not "only like millimetres", it is clear and the the centre line judge, even from the other end, would fairly easily be sure it was a foot fault.
     
    Racer41c likes this.
    #12
  13. letstakeourshirtsoff

    letstakeourshirtsoff Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    880
    Location:
    fedr goat
    he should discuss this with Serena
     
    #13
  14. Shaolin

    Shaolin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10,995
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    I've seen Safin called for the imaginary line foot fault. It's a stupid rule that shouldn't exist. Crossing the imaginary line doesn't give the server any advantage, if anything serving that close to the notch hurts their chance of serving wide.
     
    #14
  15. Bobby Jr

    Bobby Jr Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9,501
    Um, yes it does. They can hit a more effective down-the-t serve the more they are positioned on the wrong side of the centre line.

    How you could have ever played tennis and not worked this out it pretty amazing.
     
    #15
  16. Shaolin

    Shaolin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10,995
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    Ummm it also equally takes away their angle serving out wide which hurts their serve more than anything.

    How you could have ever played tennis and not worked this out it pretty amazing.:rolleyes:
     
    #16
  17. reaper

    reaper Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5,191
    If the server didn't think there was any advantage with being right on the T, they wouldn't flirt with the line he got called on.
     
    Bobby Jr likes this.
    #17
  18. Shaolin

    Shaolin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10,995
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    If there was a huge advantage to being that close to the notch then more than tiny percentage of the players would be serving from there.
     
    #18
  19. Bobby Jr

    Bobby Jr Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9,501
    But you would only do it if you were going to serve down the T then.

    Seriously. That this even needs explaining.... :eek: I need to find a vid of you playing now to confirm my suspicion you are in the Sureshs realm of ability.
     
    #19
  20. Shaolin

    Shaolin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10,995
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    Its incredibly obvious to the returner that they're going to serve down the T when they stand there.

    Seriously. That this even needs explaining....:rolleyes:
     
    #20
  21. Bobby Jr

    Bobby Jr Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9,501
    That never prevented the thousands of aces down the T seen every year. Or maybe it's to make your opponent camp a little closer to the centre so you can serve out wide.

    This is like discussing tennis with a cat. You overreached with a quite obviously stupid claim and now you're trying to explain it away. The further wide you serve the greater the wide angle you can serve. The further you can stand across the centre line the more effective your down the T serve can be. That a good cue as to why the boundaries exist in the first place.
     
    #21
  22. Nashvegas

    Nashvegas Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    650
    So you’d prefer a rule allowing the server to start on the wrong side of the center mark and simply leap into the air before hitting the ball to avoid a foot fault?
     
    Bobby Jr likes this.
    #22
  23. reaper

    reaper Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5,191
    Perhaps they should change the rule and you simply have to stand behind your own baseline...but while it's a rule it should be called. It's a pretty simple rule to comply with.
     
    Bobby Jr likes this.
    #23
  24. Shaolin

    Shaolin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10,995
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    WTF are you talking about with ''overreached''. Way to make things up so you sound like you know what you're talking about.

    Apparently you somehow don't understand that when you stand right at the notch it is incredibly telegraphed. Thats why almost NO pros serve there.
    Open your eyes. Most right handed pros serve from about 3-4' from the notch on the deuce side because it allows you to serve wide and down the T just as easily. All those aces you see down the T are 90% from people serving from 3-4' from the notch.

    @reaper, @Nashvegas I could care less if someones back foot goes over the imaginary line as long as their front foot is on the side they're supposed to serve from.
     
    #24
  25. reaper

    reaper Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5,191
    But why should one foot be allowed to cross the centre line and not the other? Surely either both can...or neither?
     
    Bobby Jr likes this.
    #25
  26. Shaolin

    Shaolin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10,995
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    It doesn't give an advantage IMO so I don't care if a foot sweeps across the imaginary line. Gives zero advantage to the server, unless the server is playing a common idiot like @Bobby Jr that wouldn't notice where the guy or girl is serving from and not think to cover the T.
     
    #26
  27. Bobby Jr

    Bobby Jr Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9,501
    Knowledge according to Shaolin:
     
    #27
  28. Firstservingman

    Firstservingman G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18,817
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Hmm. IMO, a foot fault is a foot fault.
    A few mm is neither here nor there at the time, but if it's allowed then where do you draw the line?

    The most logical position is to draw the line exactly where the line is, I'd say.

    99.9% of the time the players have no trouble sticking to this rule, so I say enforce it properly - even if it create occasional disputed calls. That's just the nature of sport.
     
    AnOctorokForDinner likes this.
    #28
  29. ParrotOnStrings

    ParrotOnStrings New User

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Munich
    video:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1K1kXsvmQFuanVehMghCb-q9RoqeWtZAP/view?usp=sharing

    pic:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1cp4UBzWvRhZ5Fe4fLekTQ46ommZ7Kp8v/view?usp=sharing

    ok so to clarify what I mean - yes it was definately foot fault, if you take into account that the whole service motion is to judge (atp rules).
    but, what I am trying to say, if you look at the video I uploaded and the picture where I draw the line... I dont unterstand how the referee could be so sure, because the whole motion when he puts his back foot back and starts the service motion, until he puts his back foot to the front is like, 0,5 seconds at most.
    and in the picture you can see that this is like really maximum a centimeter the case (I draw the line on the outside of the white line) from a what, 25 meters distance for the referee?
    at least you could say that it was very very daring of the referee on the other side to be sure that this is a foot fault - in my opinion too daring, and I seriuosly dont believe he actually was so sure, at least not sure enough to call a foot fault on a second serve. I couldnt even see it until I watched my video frame by frame.

    what I was asking my self is also, is it possible to call a challenge for a foot fault?
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2018
    #29
  30. Shaolin

    Shaolin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10,995
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    Exactly the type of intelligent response I expected from you, on par with a first grader. Congrats.
     
    #30
  31. Bobby Jr

    Bobby Jr Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9,501
    I can get the crayons out and explain how serving from the wrong side of the centre line would be an advantage to the server if you like but I don't even think that would help you pull up the silly argument anchor you've shown in this thread.
     
    Fugazi likes this.
    #31
  32. Shaolin

    Shaolin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10,995
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    Let me get the crayons out and explain this for you.

    Play A (righty) serves so close to the notch on deuce side that (as he uses a pinpoint service motion and starts with his right foot back) his right foot starts off crossing the imaginary plane of the line by an inch but finishes on the deuce side(correct side of the court).

    Player A, by serving extremely close to the notch helps his down the T serve slightly. However, by moving that close to the notch he simultaneously robs himself of a decent angle to serve out wide.

    Also to consider: Player B, the returner, if he has any playing experience whatsoever, will recognize that player A is serving that close to the notch and shade over to cover the T knowing that his angle wide is compromised. This will negate the advantage down the that player A has by moving that far toward the notch while he is also hurting his wide serve. So there is really no value to be had.

    Understand now? This is why you see players like Fed, Sampras etc serve from 3-4' from the center notch on the deuce side. If there was more value to serving right up next to the notch they would do so.

    Now lets hear your counter argument or are you just going to resort to videos of muppets and random insults.
     
    #32
  33. Bobby Jr

    Bobby Jr Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9,501
    How about you learn to remember what you first wrote. I'll remind you.

    "...Crossing the imaginary line doesn't give the server any advantage, if anything serving that close to the notch hurts their chance of serving wide."

    The first half of this sentence is wrong. Crossing the imaginary line does give the server an advantage. And this is irrespective of them reducing the out-wide advantage or signifying where they're going to serve. The more angle you can take from your initial serving position the better regardless of what the opponent sees.
     
    #33
  34. Shaolin

    Shaolin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10,995
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    I know exactly what I wrote and gave a good explanation as to why there isn't an advantage. You on the other hand don't have much of an argument as to why you think there is an advantage over serving from 3-4' from the notch where there is an angle wide as well as being close enough to the notch for T serves.

    Telegraping your desire to hit down the T and reducing your angle NEGATES any benefit from standing there, end of story. If there was an advantage to serving from there you'd see more than a small handful of people on tour willing to risk foot faulting to stand that close.
     
    #34

Share This Page