Lahyani controversial mistake in Munar's match

Tennease

Hall of Fame
#1
Lahyani is yet in another trouble :eek:

https://au.sports.yahoo.com/amphtml...elievable-mistake-020017503.html?guccounter=1

'Go home!': Tennis star, umpire in wild screaming match

7Sport21February,2019, 2:00 am GMT

Rising tennis star Jaume Munar has blasted controversial chair umpire Mohamed Lahyani over his botched intervention at the Rio Open.
The 21-year-old Spaniard moved into the quarter-finals with a 7-6 (8-6) 5-7 7-6 (7-4) win over Briton Cam Norrie in a physical contest that lasted three hours and 20 minutes.

But the result was in doubt when the umpire played a role in the tiebreak, sparking a heated screaming match.
Trailing 2-3, Munar hit a winner in the corner – but the point was called dead when Lahyani bizarrely jumped out of his seat.

The umpire thought Munar, whose left hand left his racquet on his follow through, had challenged the landing on Norrie’s shot.

The player was furious.

“No, no, no, no,” he yelled, throwing his racquet in a rage.

A discussion with Lahyani ensued but Munar was not having any of it, eventually turning to English: “Come on, man. Ey, ey, go home, man. You know what you did!”

The crowd jeered the confrontation, which turned sour as the two men yelled over each other.
Lahyani, who made headlines at the US Open last year when he ‘coached’ Nick Kyrgios with a pep talk, resolved to replay the point.
In a sequence of events to defy his age, Munar held strong and won the next four points before ending the contest on his second match point.
The Spaniard was somewhat diplomatic after the event.

“He missed a ball, but I messed up 40 or 50 in the game,” he said, as quoted by a Rio journalist.

“My reaction is that it can’t happen.”

Tennis fans agreed, with some unsurprised that Lahyani had interrupted the match:


 
Last edited:
#3
Lahyani is yet in another trouble :eek:

https://au.sports.yahoo.com/amphtml...elievable-mistake-020017503.html?guccounter=1

'Go home!': Tennis star, umpire in wild screaming match

7Sport21February,2019, 2:00 am GMT

Rising tennis star Jaume Munar has blasted controversial chair umpire Mohamed Lahyani over his botched intervention at the Rio Open.
The 21-year-old Spaniard moved into the quarter-finals with a 7-6 (8-6) 5-7 7-6 (7-4) win over Briton Cam Norrie in a physical contest that lasted three hours and 20 minutes.

But the result was in doubt when the umpire played a role in the tiebreak, sparking a heated screaming match.
Trailing 2-3, Munar hit a winner in the corner – but the point was called dead when Lahyani bizarrely jumped out of his seat.

The umpire thought Munar, whose left hand left his racquet on his follow through, had challenged the landing on Norrie’s shot.

The player was furious.

“No, no, no, no,” he yelled, throwing his racquet in a rage.

A discussion with Lahyani ensued but Munar was not having any of it, eventually turning to English: “Come on, man. Ey, ey, go home, man. You know what you did!”

The crowd jeered the confrontation, which turned sour as the two men yelled over each other.
Lahyani, who made headlines at the US Open last year when he ‘coached’ Nick Kyrgios with a pep talk, resolved to replay the point.
In a sequence of events to defy his age, Munar held strong and won the next four points before ending the contest on his second match point.
The Spaniard was somewhat diplomatic after the event.

“He missed a ball, but I messed up 40 or 50 in the game,” he said, as quoted by a Rio journalist.

“My reaction is that it can’t happen.”

Tennis fans agreed, with some unsurprised that Lahyani had interrupted the match:


Umpires should adhere to the rules. The pre match instruction to the players is to signal with a raised arm and say "challenge." You often see players give a non committal wave of the arm and the umpire grant the challenge. Now we get a player whose hand comes off the racquet in an upward movement and the umpire thinks he's challenged the call. It's because the way challenges have been allowed is haphazard.
 

Tennis_Hands

Talk Tennis Guru
#5
Umpires should adhere to the rules. The pre match instruction to the players is to signal with a raised arm and say "challenge." You often see players give a non committal wave of the arm and the umpire grant the challenge. Now we get a player whose hand comes off the racquet in an upward movement and the umpire thinks he's challenged the call. It's because the way challenges have been allowed is haphazard.
Yes, the rule should be enforced strictly: either you raise your hand and call it immediately, or you lose the opportunity.

In an effort to "help" the players use the rule the umpires are making all sorts of mistakes.

:cool:
 

Tennease

Hall of Fame
#7
Umpires should adhere to the rules. The pre match instruction to the players is to signal with a raised arm and say "challenge." You often see players give a non committal wave of the arm and the umpire grant the challenge. Now we get a player whose hand comes off the racquet in an upward movement and the umpire thinks he's challenged the call. It's because the way challenges have been allowed is haphazard.
I think challenges should be abolished. Just use automatic machine calls and be done with it!
 
#9
Lahyani is yet in another trouble :eek:

https://au.sports.yahoo.com/amphtml...elievable-mistake-020017503.html?guccounter=1

'Go home!': Tennis star, umpire in wild screaming match

7Sport21February,2019, 2:00 am GMT

Rising tennis star Jaume Munar has blasted controversial chair umpire Mohamed Lahyani over his botched intervention at the Rio Open.
The 21-year-old Spaniard moved into the quarter-finals with a 7-6 (8-6) 5-7 7-6 (7-4) win over Briton Cam Norrie in a physical contest that lasted three hours and 20 minutes.

But the result was in doubt when the umpire played a role in the tiebreak, sparking a heated screaming match.
Trailing 2-3, Munar hit a winner in the corner – but the point was called dead when Lahyani bizarrely jumped out of his seat.

The umpire thought Munar, whose left hand left his racquet on his follow through, had challenged the landing on Norrie’s shot.

The player was furious.

“No, no, no, no,” he yelled, throwing his racquet in a rage.

A discussion with Lahyani ensued but Munar was not having any of it, eventually turning to English: “Come on, man. Ey, ey, go home, man. You know what you did!”

The crowd jeered the confrontation, which turned sour as the two men yelled over each other.
Lahyani, who made headlines at the US Open last year when he ‘coached’ Nick Kyrgios with a pep talk, resolved to replay the point.
In a sequence of events to defy his age, Munar held strong and won the next four points before ending the contest on his second match point.
The Spaniard was somewhat diplomatic after the event.

“He missed a ball, but I messed up 40 or 50 in the game,” he said, as quoted by a Rio journalist.

“My reaction is that it can’t happen.”

Tennis fans agreed, with some unsurprised that Lahyani had interrupted the match:


I really think we should just replace all human umpires with Androids with decent AI. Once AI is better, I really think we should replace all Humans with AI robot where possible.
 
#10
I think challenges should be abolished. Just use automatic machine calls and be done with it!
I like the challenge system. I think it will be a shame when the human component in line calls which still exists with Hawkeye is completely erased. I like seeing players having to deal with decisions they don't like.
 
#17
Mo makes a very tidy living away from tennis giving inspirational talks (though I'm not sure about what). He's very charismatic and charming. If he ever gets canned from being a chair ump, he could clean up just being a public speaker.
I feel I don’t really care about his career :giggle:
I ain’t going to pay for listening to him :sneaky:
 
#20
Lahyani is yet in another trouble :eek:

https://au.sports.yahoo.com/amphtml...elievable-mistake-020017503.html?guccounter=1

'Go home!': Tennis star, umpire in wild screaming match

7Sport21February,2019, 2:00 am GMT

Rising tennis star Jaume Munar has blasted controversial chair umpire Mohamed Lahyani over his botched intervention at the Rio Open.
The 21-year-old Spaniard moved into the quarter-finals with a 7-6 (8-6) 5-7 7-6 (7-4) win over Briton Cam Norrie in a physical contest that lasted three hours and 20 minutes.

But the result was in doubt when the umpire played a role in the tiebreak, sparking a heated screaming match.
Trailing 2-3, Munar hit a winner in the corner – but the point was called dead when Lahyani bizarrely jumped out of his seat.

The umpire thought Munar, whose left hand left his racquet on his follow through, had challenged the landing on Norrie’s shot.

The player was furious.

“No, no, no, no,” he yelled, throwing his racquet in a rage.

A discussion with Lahyani ensued but Munar was not having any of it, eventually turning to English: “Come on, man. Ey, ey, go home, man. You know what you did!”

The crowd jeered the confrontation, which turned sour as the two men yelled over each other.
Lahyani, who made headlines at the US Open last year when he ‘coached’ Nick Kyrgios with a pep talk, resolved to replay the point.
In a sequence of events to defy his age, Munar held strong and won the next four points before ending the contest on his second match point.
The Spaniard was somewhat diplomatic after the event.

“He missed a ball, but I messed up 40 or 50 in the game,” he said, as quoted by a Rio journalist.

“My reaction is that it can’t happen.”

Tennis fans agreed, with some unsurprised that Lahyani had interrupted the match:


Munar >>>>>>> PCB
 
#21
Umpires should adhere to the rules. The pre match instruction to the players is to signal with a raised arm and say "challenge." You often see players give a non committal wave of the arm and the umpire grant the challenge. Now we get a player whose hand comes off the racquet in an upward movement and the umpire thinks he's challenged the call. It's because the way challenges have been allowed is haphazard.
There is always going to be judgement involved with officiating. In this case, there was some miscommunication between the player and the chair. Overall, the umpires are correct waaaaay more than the players. No harm done here.
 
#22
To be honest given that Munar had already said no before the mark was even checked, the point should have been replayed.
It was an awkward movement from Munar, so I can see why Mo was confused. Anyway, to Mo's credit, the point WAS replayed. Munar won it anyway. If anything, the situation affected Norrie more bc he lost 5 of the next 6 points from 1 mini-break up at *3-2 with 2 serves.
 
#25
That was a horrible mistake by Layhani. In the 3rd set TB no less.

They should suspend him again for a few tournaments...his stupidity could have easily cost Munar the match.
 
#26
That was a horrible mistake by Layhani. In the 3rd set TB no less.

They should suspend him again for a few tournaments...his stupidity could have easily cost Munar the match.
It's the stupid progression in interpretations of the challenge system. It should've stayed at 'you need to SAY "challenge!"', none of this raising your racquet, raising your finger, raising your hand, looking at your box, or asking the umpire. If ya wanna challenge, say it, or there is no challenge, period. If they say 'challenge!' there will not be a mistake, and we wouldn't have situations like this.
 
#27
It was an awkward movement from Munar, so I can see why Mo was confused. Anyway, to Mo's credit, the point WAS replayed. Munar won it anyway. If anything, the situation affected Norrie more bc he lost 5 of the next 6 points from 1 mini-break up at *3-2 with 2 serves.
Oh fair that's fine then. The clip that was posted by Tennis TV was very confusing and didn't show the conclusion, I thought Lahyani gave Norrie the point because he thought Munar stopped play.
 
#28
Very harsh criticism on Mo. It was a confusing gesture by Munar and I don't blame him for misunderstanding it. Players can signal a challenge so subtle these days umpires have to be extra attentive to them. Credit to Mo he acknowledged the error and replayed the point.
 
#29
It was an awkward movement from Munar, so I can see why Mo was confused.
Say what? Munar had hit a winner. I looked at a couple of times and he didn't do anything which looked remotely like a challenge. Regardless of the umpire's decision to stop the point the umpire made his call after the winner had landed. On fairness the point should have been awarded, not replayed.
 
#31
Media overblowing something as per usual :rolleyes:

Now, i admit (and complained way before it became envogue to do so that Mo is 'extra' and tends to garner attention in dramatic stylings); but he did not 'stop play' because of a mistaken challenge! He simply thought the shot was out and called fault and then went to check the mark. nothing crazy there! thats how you are supposed to do it. Mo was wrong as the shot was in, but it was a close shot landing very close to if not on the line.
 

Sardines

Professional
#33
The problem is saying challenge is sometimes not heard because of distance, crowd noise etc. It's happened before. And the umpire has to watch both players for that and the ball?
That said, Lahyani jumped the gun, but had to replay the point because he messed up. He probably didn't see the ball go for a winner. Ouch!
 
#34
Media overblowing something as per usual :rolleyes:

Now, i admit (and complained way before it became envogue to do so that Mo is 'extra' and tends to garner attention in dramatic stylings); but he did not 'stop play' because of a mistaken challenge! He simply thought the shot was out and called fault and then went to check the mark. nothing crazy there! thats how you are supposed to do it. Mo was wrong as the shot was in, but it was a close shot landing very close to if not on the line.
I wondered what the call was....it was an overrule by the umpire, not a ruling that Munar had challenged.
 
#36
I guess as an ump is only as good as his last call. Lahyani has made countless good calls I've seen, instantly overruling some really bad line calls.

But he saw Munar signal a challenge, so not only did he apparently make a mistake, but he also should be drawn and quartered.

Meanwhile, Munar, who threw his racket, should have also been heavily disciplined. And obviously both people were horribly violent, ready at any moment to kill each other. And the shouting - it was so bad. Screaming and yelling forever. <sarcastic overly dramatic>
 

Tennis_Hands

Talk Tennis Guru
#37
They should introduce a clear rule that states that the player should indicate that he wants a challenge with a racquet pointing at the sky, face turned towards the umpire and a clear "Challenge", not more than 1-2 seconds after the event.

No conversations, and no challenge after prolonged periods, additional explanations or such.

If the player doesn't have a racquet in his hand, he could do so by pointing with a finger towards the sky.

Here is the instructional picture:



:cool:
 
Last edited:
#38
Say what? Munar had hit a winner. I looked at a couple of times and he didn't do anything which looked remotely like a challenge. Regardless of the umpire's decision to stop the point the umpire made his call after the winner had landed. On fairness the point should have been awarded, not replayed.
After reading your post, I rewatched that shot. Mo never looked at where the winner landed on Norrie's side. Mo was always looking at Munar before, during, and after Munar hit his BH, then he called the stop-play when he saw Munar releasing his left-hand from his 2HBH that could be confused as him trying to challenge that the ball was out.

Take a look:
 
#39
if anything, the young Spanish player was lucky Mo didn't throw the book at him for throwing his racquet while Mo was right beside him!
:rolleyes:

Why would Mo "throw the book at him" in the first place. He knew he blew the call and was the cause of Munars outrage.
 
#42
A blown call is a good moral excuse for a player to throw a tantrum but, alas, the rules don't see it like that.
Actually the rules do see it like that since penalties are at the discretion of the umpire. Mo knew he screwed up so showed leniency with the racquet throw.
 
#44
Very harsh criticism on Mo. It was a confusing gesture by Munar and I don't blame him for misunderstanding it. Players can signal a challenge so subtle these days umpires have to be extra attentive to them. Credit to Mo he acknowledged the error and replayed the point.
Yeah, most lilely Mo was following the ball and out of the side of his eye caught that hand coming off the racquet to the side and thought it was a challenge. Easy to see how it happened. He was adamant but not out of control screaming as the title and people imply. He was trying to stress the resoltions over someone yelling. He made a mistake and did it right from what I see.
 
#45
Take a look at some other vids of Munar hitting his backhand. On normal backhands he almost always lets go of his left hand. The one in this situation he was moving backwards is all. Nothing special, no extra movement, no partial signal. Nothing even close. Mo just had a complete clanger with this one and had to replay the point for umpire interference. As I said though, on fairness Munar should have been awarded the point since he hit a dead winner which Norrie was nowhere near and had also given up on. The fact he didn't see it (the winner) is just another blip on Mo's end.
After reading your post, I rewatched that shot. Mo never looked at where the winner landed on Norrie's side. Mo was always looking at Munar before, during, and after Munar hit his BH, then he called the stop-play when he saw Munar releasing his left-hand from his 2HBH that could be confused as him trying to challenge that the ball was out.

Take a look:
 
Top