Le Fog gets jobbed (featuring Lars Graf)

stringertom

Bionic Poster
#4
The jobber needs another job! That's Fog's point, plain and simple! Harrison did not stop play on the shot due to the call...he barely grazed the ball and had no chance of getting it in play.
 

AM95

Hall of Fame
#6
Yeah this umpire is awful and a clown but he was right in this situation. Going by common sense, it should be Fog's point because Harrison really didn't have a play on the ball..but going by the rules, it wasn't a clear winner so they should replay the point.
 
#7
The jobber needs another job! That's Fog's point, plain and simple! Harrison did not stop play on the shot due to the call...he barely grazed the ball and had no chance of getting it in play.
He doesn't need to stop play, and it's hard to argue he didn't have a play on the ball when he was right next to it. The umpire does not consider the likelihood of Harrison hitting a quality shot or winning the point. The situation could be reversed, and Harrison could be the one about to hit a sitter for a winner, and the point would still be replayed.
 
#8
He doesn't need to stop play, and it's hard to argue he didn't have a play on the ball when he was right next to it. The umpire does not consider the likelihood of Harrison hitting a quality shot or winning the point. The situation could be reversed, and Harrison could be the one about to hit a sitter for a winner, and the point would still be replayed.
funny that fognini mentions "same sh** you did to istomin yesterday" in the video.
 
#9
funny that fognini mentions "same sh** you did to istomin yesterday" in the video.
And here's what Harrison said:
"I believe that if you were to watch the replay it was the right call because I was in a position I could play on it. Once I heard the call, I kind of let off my swing, which is why the ball didn't go in. But I was in position to make the shot."
 

Totai

Professional
#10
He doesn't need to stop play, and it's hard to argue he didn't have a play on the ball when he was right next to it. The umpire does not consider the likelihood of Harrison hitting a quality shot or winning the point. The situation could be reversed, and Harrison could be the one about to hit a sitter for a winner, and the point would still be replayed.
Harrison clearly signals that its out when you watch the video towards the end in slo mo
 
#11
I think the umpire's call is correct. Even the TV commentator effectively says the same thing when he says "It's almost certain Fognini would have won the point." The point can't be given to Fognini on an "Almost certainty." It has to be an absolute certainty. If there's any possibilty that Harrison's play on the ball is affected by the call, the point should be replayed, no matter how probable it is that Fognini would have won the point.
 
#12
A brilliantly theatrical rant by The Fog. For the two days, I've practiced saying "Da f- you doing?" (complete with hand gestures) in my very poor Italian accent.
 

Devilito

Hall of Fame
#13
Harrison could have hit the ball and put up a defensive lob. Chances of Fognini winning that point? %98. It was not a clear winner. Harrison clearly stopped his swing once he heard the out call. IDK why Fognini is complaining because in the old days he would have lost the call due to a bad call. At least with hawkeye now he's able to replay the point. Funny guy though, very entertaining. Need more like him
 
#18
Lars is a full-time umpire supporter . I have never ever seen him overturn an umpire's decision and whenever he's called upon by players for a grievance he listens to the player and then tells them to stfu and move on.

Here's another clip featuring Lars .
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=teExqmzumH8
He doesn't have the authority to overrule a chair umpire in most situations. Have you ever seen any supervisor overrule a chair's decision? It would have to be a case where the chair didn't know the rules, and that is not going to happen very often.
 
Top