Let?

DE19702

Rookie
In a league match, my partner serves and as the ball is being returned to him I turn around and see a ball rolling on our court. Thinking it came from the adjacent court I call a let. However, our opponents say the ball had fallen out of the servers pocket. They claim the point. One more thing. Apparently, after the ball comes out of the servers pocket, he momentarily stops play but then changes his mind and hits the ball back. The opponent stops and does not make a play. In the ensuing discussion the server says the return was out and the receiver says the return was clearly in. I saw it in. I said play a let but the receiver claims the point because the server looked like he stopped play. I relented and gave them the point. Was a let the proper call?
 

Max G.

Legend
In a league match, my partner serves and as the ball is being returned to him I turn around and see a ball rolling on our court. Thinking it came from the adjacent court I call a let. However, our opponents say the ball had fallen out of the servers pocket. They claim the point.
I believe this is correct. A player/team can't call a let for something they themselves did, such as dropping a ball.

One more thing. Apparently, after the ball comes out of the servers pocket, he momentarily stops play but then changes his mind and hits the ball back. The opponent stops and does not make a play. In the ensuing discussion the server says the return was out and the receiver says the return was clearly in. I saw it in. I said play a let but the receiver claims the point because the server looked like he stopped play. I relented and gave them the point. Was a let the proper call?
You can't "stop the point and then change your mind". Once the point is stopped it's stopped, there's no restarting it. I can't tell what you're describing in terms of who hit the ball where and who called what, especially since you're describing people on opposite sides of the net arguing over a call - but the only person who can make the call is the person whose side of the net the ball is on... but probably it doesn't matter, because at the point someone stopped play it doesn't matter who else hit the ball where. If play was stopped to call the ball out, then whoever hit the ball out loses the point. If the point was stopped to call a let, it's a let. If the point was stopped for a reason that wasn't an out call or a valid reason for a let, whoever stopped play loses the point.

That said, in social play it's fine, just play a let wherever, I'd always play a let in social tennis whenever there's a ball on court no matter where it came from, or in the case of any argument no matter who was *actually* right. But the real rules are more strict.
 

Dartagnan64

Legend
It's receiver's point for calling a let on a hindrance made by your team. All the other stuff you wrote is irrelevant. Tell the server to get shorts with deeper pockets.
 

Cindysphinx

G.O.A.T.
Dartagnan is right.

Had you known the ball had come from your partner rather than another court, you could have ignored it and continued playing. I think you should be able to pick it up and keep going -- can't find anything in the Code that says you couldn't.
 

DE19702

Rookie
It's receiver's point for calling a let on a hindrance made by your team. All the other stuff you wrote is irrelevant. Tell the server to get shorts with deeper pockets.
I see your point. Is this situation like when a hat falls off? The person whose hat falls off can't call a let but the opponent can either decide to keep playing or call a hinderance. The first time it is a let and the second time it's loss of point. Perhaps it is better to lose a point than to break a leg.
 

Dartagnan64

Legend
It’s best to have shorts with proper pockets. Barring that, it is best to concede a point rather than injure oneself.
 
Top