Lost a 5th Set Grand Slam Final then Won 5th Set Grand Slam Final the Following Year

Discussion in 'Former Pro Player Talk' started by McEnroeisanartist, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. McEnroeisanartist

    McEnroeisanartist Hall of Fame

    Feb 27, 2006
    In the open era, only twice has a male player lost a singles Grand Slam final in one year then won the same singles Grand Slam final the following year:

    Stan Smith lost in the 1971 Wimbledon final 6-4 in the fifth then won the 1972Wimbledon final 7-5 in the fifth.

    Roger Federer lost in the 2008 Wimbledon final 9-7 in the fifth then won the 2009 Wimbledon final 16-14 in the fifth.
  2. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Jan 24, 2012
    Nadal lost 2007 Wimbledon final 6-2 in the 5th, then won 2008 Wimbledon final 9-7 in the 5th.
  3. ClarkC

    ClarkC Hall of Fame

    Jul 27, 2008
    Charlottesville, VA
    Well then, that is the third of the two occurences that we are talking about. :)
  4. krosero

    krosero Legend

    Dec 3, 2006
    Dinny Pails and John Bromwich split five-set finals at the Australian Championships in 1946-47.

    Nicola Pietrangeli won a five-set final at RG in 1960 over Luis Ayala but lost in five the next year to Manuel Santana.

    Wilfred Baddeley won a five-set All-Comers final at Wimbledon in 1895 over Wilberforce Eaves but lost in five in the Challenge Round the next year to Harold Mahony.

    Don Budge lost a five-set final at the US Championships in 1936 to Fred Perry and came back the next year to win in five over Gottfried von Cramm.

Share This Page