Men's Wimbledon 2012 final match point

Fugazi

Professional
First I wanna say that I'm a HUGE Federer fan. After seeing the match point again, my initial impression is confirmed: Murray's passing shot did seem either in or very close. He definitely could have challenged. Anyone has a replay of some sort (slow motion perhaps, or different angle?) to put any doubts to rest?
 

Feña14

Legend
It did look close, unfortunately Murray had used his last challenge trying to get a foot hold on the Federer serve earlier in the game.

It probably was just about out though.
 

Fugazi

Professional
I did a slow-motion replay in my living room, on a HD TV (also in 3D) and the ball was clearly out...
Thanks for that! Any way you can upload it? (not that I don't trust you, but I'm a little anal about that stuff, I'll admit it).
 

Fugazi

Professional
The point is all over Youtube, it was obviously out, and when it comes from NSK it confirms it even more.
I only found poor quality vids for the match point, not enough frames to really see even if you pause it. Can you please post a link?
 
Last edited:

TonyB

Hall of Fame
I watched the replay after the match and kept my eyes focused on the spot where it would land. Even at full speed I could clearly see that it was out. Probably by at least 3-4 inches.
 

purge

Hall of Fame
it wa clearly out. by several centimeters. sorry but you should think about getting glasses if you think it caught the line after watching it in slowmo oO

also murray had 0 challenges left
 

Crayola Oblongata

Hall of Fame
I thought it may have caught the line, and that Murray was about to challenge. The crowds reaction also added to this, and Fed looked as though he stopped his celebration becuase Murray was challenging. But this obviously makes no sense as Murray had no challenges left.

Watching the replay though, it looks out fo sho.
 

-RF-

Hall of Fame
Yeah, at first it looked in but the BBC showed a slo-mo replay with Sue Barker confirming that it was out.
 

Fugazi

Professional
it wa clearly out. by several centimeters. sorry but you should think about getting glasses if you think it caught the line after watching it in slowmo oO

also murray had 0 challenges left
I didn't watch it in slowmo. Do you have a link?
 
Last edited:

Fugazi

Professional
My eternal gratitude to anyone who posts either a clear slowmo vid of the match point or a picture of Murray's pass attempt when it lands out ;)
 
Last edited:

merwy

G.O.A.T.
My eternal gratitude to anyone who post either a clear slowmo vid of the match point or a picture of Murray's pass attempt when it lands out ;)
Can't find a good video on youtube but I will post one when someone posts it on youtube. I can assure you that it was out and it wasn't even that close, I could clearly see it on TV.
 

Fugazi

Professional
Can't find a good video on youtube but I will post one when someone posts it on youtube. I can assure you that it was out and it wasn't even that close, I could clearly see it on TV.
Thanks for that! I know I'm being a little difficult here, I'm clearly crossing the line... unless I'm touching it? ;)
 

Mainad

Bionic Poster
It was correctly called out. Hawk-eye showed it landing wide of the line so a Murray challenge, if he had had any left, would have been in vain.
 

trenzterra

Semi-Pro
Well, but at his first 17th Major/7th Wimbledon Championship Point at 40-15, Federer actually had an ace but he didn't challenge (the Hawkeye replay showed that it was pretty in) and proceeded to lose the next point on his second serve, so I guess all is fair?
 

Fugazi

Professional
Well, but at his first 17th Major/7th Wimbledon Championship Point at 40-15, Federer actually had an ace but he didn't challenge (the Hawkeye replay showed that it was pretty in) and proceeded to lose the next point on his second serve, so I guess all is fair?
You're right, and as you corrected in your next post, it wasn't an ace.
 

merwy

G.O.A.T.
Well, but at his first 17th Major/7th Wimbledon Championship Point at 40-15, Federer actually had an ace but he didn't challenge (the Hawkeye replay showed that it was pretty in) and proceeded to lose the next point on his second serve, so I guess all is fair?
Are you implying it wasn't fair to begin with? That ball that Murray hit was well out! God damn people, stop making excuses and just accept the loss. The ball was out and it wasn't even close enough to discuss it!
 

Fugazi

Professional
I watched Hawk-eye track it just after it landed. It was just wide of the line. Murray couldn't have challenged it anyway as he'd run out of challenges.
You watched it on TV or you were there? I'm pretty sure they didn't show it on the ESPN feed.
 

Fugazi

Professional
Are you implying it wasn't fair to begin with? That ball that Murray hit was well out! God damn people, stop making excuses and just accept the loss. The ball was out and it wasn't even close enough to discuss it!
I'm not looking for excuses, as I was massively rooting for Fed ;)
 

tennisaddict

Bionic Poster
I too thought for a moment it was an excellent cross court from Andy, more so judging by Fed's initial reaction.

I was re-living USO semis 40-15, 2 match points one more time.

But the youtube videos already posted clearly show that it was out.
 

PimpMyGame

Hall of Fame
The ball was definitely out. But I did chuckle to myself thinking if I was a pro and just lost the final, I would challenge regardless so the winner would have to put his celebration on ice.
 

woodrow1029

Hall of Fame
The ball was definitely out. But I did chuckle to myself thinking if I was a pro and just lost the final, I would challenge regardless so the winner would have to put his celebration on ice.
You probably wouldn't challenge if you didn't have any challenges remaining, as was the case with Murray.
 

merwy

G.O.A.T.
You probably wouldn't challenge if you didn't have any challenges remaining, as was the case with Murray.
It's funny considering he used up his last challenge on Fed's serve that was so far in that it didn't even come close to the line.
 

gopokes

Rookie
Just watched the DVR replay in slow-mo - the ball was at least one ball-width out - probably the equivalent of 2-3 inches.
 

beernutz

Hall of Fame
As much as I tried, I didn't see it clearly. Very hard to tell when/where the ball actually lands. In fact there just aren't enough frames per second to pause it at the right moment.
Get a better monitor? I'm looking at it on a 30" digital monitor and it is clear as day that the ball is out.
 

Tcbtennis

Hall of Fame
As much as I tried, I didn't see it clearly. Very hard to tell when/where the ball actually lands. In fact there just aren't enough frames per second to pause it at the right moment.
If you go to the official Wimbledon website, there is a video named the 126th Championship Review. It highlights the entire fortnight. At the 3:22 mark it shows a slo-mo of match point at a better angle that was shown on ESPN. The ball was just wide, but clearly wide.
 

ledwix

Hall of Fame
The ball looking in was an illusion caused by the camera angle shifting at the last second as the ball was passing to the right side of the screen, thereby changing the expected perspective of the line. lol
 
Last edited:

Fugazi

Professional
The ball looking in was an illusion caused by the camera angle shifting at the last second as the ball was passing to the right side of the screen, thereby changing the expected perspective of the line. lol
Haven't thought of that, I guess that's possible!
 

PimpMyGame

Hall of Fame
You probably wouldn't challenge if you didn't have any challenges remaining, as was the case with Murray.
But I would, just to try and get ultimate confusion going. Followed by a 5 minute argument with the umpire, request the match referee, and then when it has been proven that I actually have no more challenges I would kick a line judge in the shin.
 

woodrow1029

Hall of Fame
But I would, just to try and get ultimate confusion going. Followed by a 5 minute argument with the umpire, request the match referee, and then when it has been proven that I actually have no more challenges I would kick a line judge in the shin.
Just don't forget to threaten to shove a ball down someone's throat.
 
Top