Missed First Serve - What's The Rule?

Not if the hindrance is caused by yourself, which in this case it was her first service ball that hadn't been cleared. If the hindrance is caused by the opponent or an outside agency, then you get a first serve. This case it would have been a second serve for a let due to the server's ball rolling in the court.

But its moot if no one saw or heard the partner stop play. The point was played in good faith and the partner called a let, not for the hindrance of the ball in the court, but rather because she wasn't ready when the server served. That is not a let.

The lesson remains, be clear when halting play due to a hindrance. And server, look at the court once before you start your motion to be sure everyone is ready for play.

You can't call a hindrance on something you caused. If you do you lose the point.
 
You can't call a hindrance on something you caused. If you do you lose the point.

No it can be a let if it was unintentional. Such as your faulted first serve rolling onto the court. If I serve long through the court and it starts rolling back into play from the fence during my second serve, a hindrance can be called and a let played. I don't lose the point for that. If I yell in my opponents backswing on the other hand...
 
Back
Top