Mohamed Lahyani makes a big mistake in the match Raonic / Del Potro

RafaIsBack

Professional
Mohamed Lahyani made a big mistake in the match Raonic / Del Potro which allowed the Canadian to break back and win the match :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O9b8HhoJpV8

As Del Potro was leading 4-3 break, 40 all, on his service game, he should've been given the point since Raonic touched the net after hitting a forehand. Realizing his mistake, the Canadian looked at the umpire but Lahyani didn't see it and gave him the point which would then allow him to break back and win the match. The giant screen showed that Lahyani was wrong but he was wasn't allowed to change his decision.

Delpotro looked disgusted as you can see in this tweet :
@delpotrojuan said:
Very upset after the match I lost. About the end... I think everybody saw what happened. Thanks for your support.

Milos Raonic said in the press conference that he was lucky that the Umpire didn't see anything. He asked "who would have given the point if he was in the same situation and the point could have given the break" ?
 
Last edited:

Chico

Banned
He was not nearly as bad as Pascal Maria in FO SF this year. Pascal Maria decided the match. This one is debatable.

Yes bad refereeing, but we have seen much worse, so I don't see what is a big deal.
 

m2nk2

Hall of Fame
Can't believe Raonic didn't give Delpo the point. He knew very well he was touching the net.

Really really bad imo.
 

Devilito

Hall of Fame
Lahyani is one of the worst umps in tennis. He thinks he's the third man in the ring and some sort of celebrity but makes more terrible calls than anybody I've seen
 
I expected Lahyani to see the look Raonic gave him. The least Milos could have done was hit the next ball in the stands or something. But once a call is made and the next point begins, there's not much you can do as a chair umpire. You're not allowed, as you say, to retroactively change a previous point. Both of them did wrong and rules are rules. I am a Raonic fan but I admit that it was very unsportsmanlike. We can only hope it doesn't happen again.
 

Chico

Banned
I can't believe Nadal pressured Pascal Maria to override and call out a ball that was clearly in (confirmed by Hawk Eye that it was in by big margin) on a break point, and that Pascal Maria obeyed to Nadal's request giving Nadal a crucial break.
 

Chico

Banned
Lahyani is one of the worst umps in tennis. He thinks he's the third man in the ring and some sort of celebrity but makes more terrible calls than anybody I've seen

Sorry but Pascal Maria and Kader Nouni are much worse and made much more terrible calls.
Also a referee that disallowed Berdych underhand serve who does not know the rules is worse too.

Lots of bad referees in tennis, unfortunately.
 

m2nk2

Hall of Fame
He was not nearly as bad as Pascal Maria in FO SF this year. Pascal Maria decided the match. This one is debatable.

Yes bad refereeing, but we have seen much worse, so I don't see what is a big deal.

It was clear Djoko touched the net. Pascal made the right choice.
 

RafaIsBack

Professional
Lahyani is usually a very good umpire (my favorite), he takes good decisions, overrules a lot. But yesterday he made a big mistake. He looked down too late.
 

smash hit

Professional
I can't believe Nadal pressured Pascal Maria to override and call out a ball that was clearly in (confirmed by Hawk Eye that it was in by big margin) on a break point, and that Pascal Maria obeyed to Nadal's request giving Nadal a crucial break.

Are you referring to the net touching incident?
 

Chico

Banned
It was clear Djoko touched the net. Pascal made the right choice.

I am not talking about that. There were several other incidents when he was clearly biased and made calls that helped Nadal at crucial moments. Did you watch the match?
 

President

Legend
He was not nearly as bad as Pascal Maria in FO SF this year. Pascal Maria decided the match. This one is debatable.

Yes bad refereeing, but we have seen much worse, so I don't see what is a big deal.

What did Pascal Maria do that was incorrect?
 
I can't believe Nadal pressured Pascal Maria to override and call out a ball that was clearly in (confirmed by Hawk Eye that it was in by big margin) on a break point, and that Pascal Maria obeyed to Nadal's request giving Nadal a crucial break.

Of course the top players aren't entirely honest either. Remember the timely toilet break by Federer which rattled Davydenko? Or the MTO by Nadal against Petzschner? Ferrer lobbing a ball at a baby (okay, that had nothing to do with the outcome of the match). We're not perfect, but we should all make an effort to be as honest and sporting to eachother as possible.
 

smash hit

Professional
I am not talking about that. There were several other incidents when he was clearly biased and made calls that helped Nadal at crucial moments. Did you watch the match?

Yes I did, but I wasn't watching through rose tinted spectacles, or should I say Djokovic tinted spectacles.
 

m2nk2

Hall of Fame
I am not talking about that. There were several other incidents when he was clearly biased and made calls that helped Nadal at crucial moments. Did you watch the match?

Yes, everything seemed good to me. Except when he gave Nadal a point penalty for time violation when it should have been only the first serve.
 

Chico

Banned
Of course the top players aren't entirely honest either. Remember the timely toilet break by Federer which rattled Davydenko? Or the MTO by Nadal against Petzschner? Ferrer lobbing a ball at a baby (okay, that had nothing to do with the outcome of the match). We're not perfect, but we should all make an effort to be as honest and sporting to eachother as possible.

I agree here.
 

RafaIsBack

Professional
Yes, everything seemed good to me. Except when he gave Nadal a point penalty for time violation when it should have been only the first serve.
No he was right. In the Grand Slams you get a point penalty. In the other tournaments, you get a 2nd serve.
 

smash hit

Professional
Yes, everything seemed good to me. Except when he gave Nadal a point penalty for time violation when it should have been only the first serve.

Agreed. That is the only error I saw him make and I believe Nadal didn't even question that obviously wrong decision.

RafaIsBack said "No he was right. In the Grand Slams you get a point penalty. In the other tournaments, you get a 2nd serve."

I wasn't aware of that, thanks. Was this a second violation?
 
Last edited:

Chico

Banned
Do you have a video link relevant to the points you are trying to make?

Why, in particular, do you point to Nadal-Djokovic, when this topic is about Raonic-Del Potro?

We are talking about bad refereeing. Pascal Maria in FO SF was the worst refereeing I have ever saw in a tennis match, and it had direct effect on the outcome of the match. So it is worth to be mention here.
 

Chico

Banned
Agreed. That is the only error I saw him make and I believe Nadal didn't even question that obviously wrong decision.

Break point in the first break in the third set. Go back and watch. Also watch the first set for more biased overrules. Also refusal to water the court, ...

That time violation was at 40-0 for Nadal. Completely irrelevant. Given just to cover other terrible decisions he made in Nadal's favor.

Anyway, you may deny it all you want here. But that was terrible and clearly biased refereeing.
 
Last edited:

m2nk2

Hall of Fame
We are talking about bad refereeing. Pascal Maria in FO SF was the worst refereeing I have ever saw in a tennis match, and it had direct effect on the outcome of the match. So it is worth to be mention here.

Can you expand on this a bit?

And don't bring up watering the court in the middle of a set.
 

Chico

Banned
OHH my gosh let it go you cry baby.

Sorry but I can't just let it go. Injustice should not be simply forgiven and forgotten or it will happen again. People need to be reminded of what actually happened. Since the topic is about bad referees, I think it is appropriate to talk about it.
 
The Raonic vs. Del Potro match was "the battle of the crips". While Raonic had an arm injury, Del Potro had an injury on his back. Both were serving slow, and walking like they were disabled. Raonic won the first set, I think he wanted to get off the court as fast as possible due to his arm injury, which was very dangerous to play with, considering the USO is just a couple of weeks away. I'm sure Raonic would have told the referee he touched the net if he wasn't injured.
 

woodrow1029

Hall of Fame
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IB2ZrN-YCjk

Blatant violation of tennis rules by a referee. He should not be allowed to referee another match.
Don't know his name though.

ALso a thread about this:
http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=472873

It was disallowed because he served it AS the umpire was announcing TIME VIOLATION WARNING. He wasn't disallowing it because it was an underhand serve. Berdych was trying to get away with stupid crap by quick serving as the umpire was announcing a time violation.
 

Chico

Banned
It was disallowed because he served it AS the umpire was announcing TIME VIOLATION WARNING. He wasn't disallowing it because it was an underhand serve. Berdych was trying to get away with stupid crap by quick serving as the umpire was announcing a time violation.

Please check the video. The referee mimicked underhand serve motion and said "you can't serve like that". So it is pretty clear why did he disallowed the serve and it is not because of time violation.

Referee is clearly not quite familiar with the rules. Not sure why they allow people like this to referee?
Who is he anyway? This is first time I see him.
 
Last edited:

woodrow1029

Hall of Fame
Please check the video. The referee mimicked underhand serve motion and said "you can't serve like that". So it is pretty clear why did he disallowed the serve and it is not because of time violation.

Referee is clearly not quite familiar with the rules. Not sure why they allow people like this to referee?
Who is he anyway? This is first time I see him.
Here's a better video. You should probably try to find out what actually happened before crying about nonsense that you don't understand.

http://www.tennis-x.com/xblog/2013-08-09/13272.php
 

Chico

Banned
Here's a better video. You should probably try to find out what actually happened before crying about nonsense that you don't understand.

http://www.tennis-x.com/xblog/2013-08-09/13272.php

Sorry, but also from this video it is still clear that he disallowed the serve because it was underhand. His hand motion while saying "You can't serve like this" explains it clearly.
So I think I perfectly understood what happened. Thank you.
 

clayqueen

Talk Tennis Guru
Milos Raonic said in the press conference that he was lucky that the Umpire didn't see anything. He asked "who would have given the point if he was in the same situation and the point could have given the break" ?

Nadal and Djoko regularly concede bad calls no matter what the consequences. I know Djoko argued about a similar situation at RG, but give him his due, he always owns up if the call is wrong.
 

newpball

Legend
Wow, just saw this, the umpire clearly made a mistake imho, the opponent was clearly ready:

sl7.gif
 

librarysteg

Hall of Fame
Like I said in another thread, it upsets me more because it happened against DelPo of all people. He's known for his good sportsmanship, and I honestly think if the tables had been turned he would have conceded the point.
 

Mainad

Bionic Poster
Like I said in another thread, it upsets me more because it happened against DelPo of all people. He's known for his good sportsmanship, and I honestly think if the tables had been turned he would have conceded the point.

Hmmm...Delpo is no saint on court. He's notorious for challenging line calls at the last possible minute, sometimes over the time limit. I recall it drove Federer crazy at the 2009 USO final and was the reason he lost his temper with the umpire at one of the changeovers.
 

librarysteg

Hall of Fame
Hmmm...Delpo is no saint on court. He's notorious for challenging line calls at the last possible minute, sometimes over the time limit. I recall it drove Federer crazy at the 2009 USO final and was the reason he lost his temper with the umpire at one of the changeovers.

I don't think any of them are saints...maybe Edberg was :)
 

woodrow1029

Hall of Fame
Sorry, but also from this video it is still clear that he disallowed the serve because it was underhand. His hand motion while saying "You can't serve like this" explains it clearly.
So I think I perfectly understood what happened. Thank you.
The umpire said, "I announce then you can't serve like this." He's announcing the time violation, and Berdych can't quick serve while he's announcing the time violation. If you can't understand that, then I can't help you with your issues.
 

Chico

Banned
The umpire said, "I announce then you can't serve like this." He's announcing the time violation, and Berdych can't quick serve while he's announcing the time violation. If you can't understand that, then I can't help you with your issues.

He said "I announce you can't serve like that", while making the underhand serve motion. There was no "then".
So it is clear the serve was disallowed because it was underhand.

Also sorry but I have no "issues" nor I asked for "your help". Not nice of you to throw things like that here. It does not really help you with your arguments.

Thank you.
 
Last edited:

woodrow1029

Hall of Fame
He said "I announce you can't serve like that", while making the underhand serve motion. There was no "then".
So it is clear the serve was disallowed because it was underhand.

Also sorry but I have no "issues". Not nice of you to throw things like that here. It does not really help you with your arguments.

Thank you.
You can't hear the "Then"? If that's the case, then nobody can help you with your hearing problem other than a doctor.
 
Top