Mohamed Lahyani makes a big mistake in the match Raonic / Del Potro

austintennis2005

Professional
Bobby Jones - A man of true character:
"As he took his stance to pitch onto the green, the head of his club brushed the grass and caused a slight movement of the ball. He took the shot, then informed his playing partner Walter Hagen and the USGA official covering their match that he was calling a penalty on himself. Hagen was unable to talk him out of it, and they continued play. After the round and before he signed his scorecard, officials argued with Jones but he insisted that he had violated Rule 18, moving a ball at rest after address, and took a 77 instead of the 76 he otherwise would have carded. Jones' self-imposed one-stroke penalty eventually cost him winning the Open by a stroke in regulation, necessitating a playoff he then lost. Although praised by many sports writers for his gesture, Jones was reported to have said, "You may as well praise a man for not robbing a bank."
 
OMG the upire didn't know that an underhand serve is allowed? That was one of the first rules I learned in Tennis when my teacher told me about Michael Chang.

This Umpire should be fired, that's embarassing...
 

Steve0904

Talk Tennis Guru
Like I said in another thread, it upsets me more because it happened against DelPo of all people. He's known for his good sportsmanship, and I honestly think if the tables had been turned he would have conceded the point.

Personally I doubt it, but that's just me. Like Mainad said, Delpo is a nice guy, but he's not a saint. This was an extremely important point. Clearly, Lahyani made a bad mistake (and I like him as an umpire), but if you think anybody would've given up a point like that when they didn't have to, you're kidding yourself.

At the end of the day, pros are ultra competitive and rightfully so. That's one of the reasons why they're pros.

As the saying goes. "If you ain't cheatin you ain't tryin."
 

amx13

Semi-Pro
The problem with the Berdych call was the explanation given by the chairman. "I announced, then you cannot serve. PERIOD". I´ts clear that he had started announcing the time violation warning before Berdych started his service motion, the fact that it was an under-hand serve is irrelevant, he was not allowed to serve, that´s it.
 

woodrow1029

Hall of Fame
The problem with the Berdych call was the explanation given by the chairman. "I announced, then you cannot serve. PERIOD". I´ts clear that he had started announcing the time violation warning before Berdych started his service motion, the fact that it was an under-hand serve is irrelevant, he was not allowed to serve, that´s it.
Finally, someone else that understands what actually happened!
 

newpball

Legend
Finally, someone else that understands what actually happened!
A soon as the umpire started to talk and give the warning then obviously the player cannot start a serve, but is that what happened? It looks to me the umpire was looking away to write first and then he started to announce. It is not clear to me when exactly the serve took place. Obviously if the serve started after he started to announce then he cannot serve.
 

woodrow1029

Hall of Fame
A soon as the umpire started to talk and give the warning then obviously the player cannot start a serve, but is that what happened? It looks to me the umpire was looking away to write first and then he started to announce. It is not clear to me when exactly the serve took place. Obviously if the serve started after he started to announce then he cannot serve.

It's really not clear to you in this video link?

http://www.tennis-x.com/xblog/2013-08-09/13272.php
 

3fees

G.O.A.T.
I like Mohamed he is cool,,it would be nice if an chair umpire could see everything-like-omniscient in book reading, its not that way though,,move on and get over it.
 

woodrow1029

Hall of Fame
Thanks, I completely agree. Ignore Woodrow, he appears to have some emotional issues and you're not the only one to experience this.
I guess I shouldn't be surprised that you are not able to see in this video link what actually happened as well?

Several people have already changed their mind about the situation after looking at that link, which shows a more complete account of what happened.

http://www.tennis-x.com/xblog/2013-08-09/13272.php
 

dunlop_fort_knox

Professional
The Raonic vs. Del Potro match was "the battle of the crips". While Raonic had an arm injury, Del Potro had an injury on his back. Both were serving slow, and walking like they were disabled. Raonic won the first set, I think he wanted to get off the court as fast as possible due to his arm injury, which was very dangerous to play with, considering the USO is just a couple of weeks away. I'm sure Raonic would have told the referee he touched the net if he wasn't injured.

that's not an excuse for cheating an opponent and taking food off of his table. this is a black mark on an otherwise so far unblemished career.
 

tacou

G.O.A.T.
wow bold of Raonic to admit it...you are supposed to plead ignorance and keep us all wondering about your character. to answer his question, any player with an ounce of sportsmanship would own up.
 

newpball

Legend
Oops, I stand corrected, I apologize, I am completely wrong, yes he is trying to pull a fast one. :oops:
So I am trying to understand what is going on. I saw two videos of this incident. On one I can hear a time violation warning after Berdych's third bounce while on the other video (which came to my attention first) I cannot, instead there is an audible comment from an audience member at the second bounce.

http://youtu.be/0euUZVL70H0 (via http://www.tennis-x.com/xblog/2013-08-09/13272.php)

http://youtu.be/IB2ZrN-YCjk

The two soundtracks do not seem to match.
 
Last edited:
Top