Odd request for a Tennis Talk Forum

Discussion in 'Talk Tennis Updates' started by Chas Tennis, Dec 16, 2017.

  1. Chas Tennis

    Chas Tennis Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7,460
    Location:
    Bay Area California
    When I Google searched and found this Tennis Talk thread in a Google list and clicked on it, it said that some site was requesting my user name and password. ??

    I put in the "XX" to disable.

    https://tt.teXXnnis-warehouse.com/index.php?threads/watching-the-ball-during-serve.568526/

    On clicking, an "Authentication Box" appeared with
    (I also added the XX again to the blog link to disable.)

    "http://sidaXXudhi.blog.com is requesting your username and password. WARNING: Your password will not be sent to the website you are currently visiting!"

    This is a first for me, what is going on? I'm afraid to post the link to the thread in a current TW thread. I am familiar with that old TW thread.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2017
    #1
  2. TW Staff

    TW Staff Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    29,530
    Location:
    Tennis-Warehouse.com
    This sounds like you have spyware/malware trying to obtain information. We are not requesting this information. You might want to run a security scan on your computer.

    Thanks,
    Tiffani, TW
     
    TahoeTennis likes this.
    #2
  3. PrinceMoron

    PrinceMoron Legend

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614
    GitHub user with code for web development
    Nothing to do with TT


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    #3
  4. Imago

    Imago Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,495
    #4
  5. TW Staff

    TW Staff Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    29,530
    Location:
    Tennis-Warehouse.com
    #5
  6. Firstservingman

    Firstservingman G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18,742
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Yes, I get that box too, for that thread only.

    I think I know exactly what's going on here.
    One of the objects (pictures or videos) that someone has posted in that thread a while ago is hosted on someone's blog.
    The blog owner has since made that blog private or password protected or something, and so when the page tries to load the object from that site, the site is now querying it for the blog username and password.

    So it's a broken link. No malware or anything. :)
    Just click out of it or whatever.
     
    #6

Share This Page