A DQ recently led to a lot of controversy, and I'd like to hear people's comments. A team from my club realized that a player on their opponent's team at 4.0 Regionals was rated a 4.5 in 2009, but had re-rated himself as a 4.0 for 2011 by applying using a different USTA number! Apparently this deception was well-known around the opponent's club, where he was a teaching pro. He was 8-0 in Mixed 7.0 & 8.0, and won his only two matches in Mens' Adult, all easy wins, but he avoided being DQ'ed on strikes. When the captain of my club's team found out about this, the player had already won two matches at Regionals, again by lopsided scores. The captain went to the tournament director, who investigated and called the captain to verify that the deception had definitely taken place. With the tournament director's assistance, a formal grievance was filed before the third match. The captain was confident that the offender would be thrown out of the competition and that they had already won the championship, assuming there would be reversals in the matches already played, and kept several of his best players out of the lineup to give playing time to other teammates. That decision backfired when the USTA ruled two days later that the offending player would in the future have to play under his 4.5 rating, but that the matches he played under his fraudulent self-rating would stand because the committee did not reach its decision until after the third match was played. The other team will be going to Sectionals with no sanction other than the loss of that player. An appeal was filed but was denied. My guys felt that there should have been some punishment for the team that knowingly played a fraudulently rated player. What do you think?