Players calling balls before they have landed.

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by zaph, May 18, 2018.

  1. zaph

    zaph Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    494
    This is an issue I am finding with my second serve. I hit a topspin serve, which is a bit unusual at my level, at least at the club I play at. Most dolly it, hit a slice or a depowered first serve.

    It can clear the net by several feet, yet land in and I am finding some of my opponents are calling it out based on the trajectory. I had the problem with an older chap who called three out in one game. I could be wrong but it looked in to me and it felt like I hit it right. He also seemed to call it early.

    This happened a few times, but then players overule themselves or in one case the partner of the person making the calls kept overuling her, saying that my second serve had landed in.

    I sometimes get this problem with my forehand, which dips at the last minute. This happen to anyone else? How should I deal with it?
     
    #1
  2. dman72

    dman72 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,495
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I've had it a few times, but most people I play will correct themselves, especially when pushed and if you make the comment "you called it before it landed and it looked good from here."

    I've had more of the "I think it was out" from a guy standing on the deuce side line when I cranked one that was 2 inches inside the ad side baseline that they couldn't have possibly seen out.
     
    West Coast Ace likes this.
    #2
  3. styksnstryngs

    styksnstryngs Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,324
    Stop using poly:D
    But seriously, you can remind them that they can't call the ball before it lands, and that if they do, it's your point automatically.
     
    Irrefutable, Curious and 5263 like this.
    #3
  4. heninfan99

    heninfan99 G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    19,149
    right up there with dooshes that catch balls mid air while calling out.
     
    West Coast Ace likes this.
    #4
  5. Limpinhitter

    Limpinhitter G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16,609
    If your opponent calls a ball out prematurely, and it lands in, then he should change his call. By changing his call, he loses the point by rule. You do not replay the point. If he doesn't change the call, and you are sure the ball landed in, challenge him on his call. If it's a sanctioned match, and he is cheating, ask for a linesman.
     
    #5
  6. 5263

    5263 G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    12,358
    good comments overall, but not sure why you think the point is yours automatically? Imo the issue here is a call before the ball lands is not a call at all. You can't make a call till it lands, so anything other than 'let' is just partners communicating. If someone hits a high long lob and I say 'out', that is just me saving my partner's legs from running. If the ball lands in and we don't go get it, then I just gave the partner bad advice and we lose the point. College and pro players do this all the time with an official right there on court. They must deem it ok, but it can't be an official out call until after it lands.
    I'd say, remind them that there is no official determination till the ball lands and the early call doesn't count. If they have to overrule a call, they lose the point, so many will not overrule calls now sadly, unless you go by the old rules of a replay of the point.
     
    onehandbh likes this.
    #6
  7. esgee48

    esgee48 Legend

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,125
    Location:
    SF CA
    Calling 'Out' can cause the opposing players to stop play. If the ball lands 'In' and you continue to play, but the other team has stopped, they get the point. Calling 'Let it go' or 'Bounce it' is a better way to communicate with your partner since the other team will continue to play until they hear the 'Out' call.
     
    tegg96 and dman72 like this.
    #7
  8. Bobs tennis

    Bobs tennis Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    474
    I'm guilty-been trying to break the habit but it does happen. I ALWAYS GIVE THE POINT TO MY OPPONENT WHEN I DO IT.
     
    #8
  9. S&V-not_dead_yet

    S&V-not_dead_yet Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    9,409
    Doosh, yes. But at least the ball was indeed going out [ie catching a head-height ball when standing behind the BL].

    The people who make calls before the ball lands are doing so on a ball which will be close, not out by 15 feet as in the previous case.

    Neither should be done, of course. But the latter has the potential to bother me more than the former.
     
    #9
  10. ChaelAZ

    ChaelAZ Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,196
    Location:
    Arizona
    Anyone see the line call today in the Djo/Nadal match that the line person seems to call it before it actually hit the ground? It was a Nadal BH up the line and she seems to call it in the air, and Nadal immediately started walking forward to question it because of the timing I think. It is a pet peeve of mine though.
     
    #10
  11. Dartagnan64

    Dartagnan64 Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5,272
    Recently played a guy that was one step inside the baseline that caught a ball midair around his knees and called it out. Probably would have been out but not by much. I thought that was brazen.

    I have no problem with guys standing behind the baseline and catching a ball above the waist. Even the strongest gust won’t bring that thing back into play. But if you inside the baseline, let it land.
     
    heninfan99 likes this.
    #11
  12. dman72

    dman72 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,495
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    If you do that in USTA you lose the point. Bad habit. I used to do it but guys I played casually warned me..they were cool with it too but it's just not smart.
     
    #12
  13. user92626

    user92626 Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8,012
    it matters where they stand when they catch the ball though. If they are standing outside the court lines, great chances are your balls are very on the way out. I have no problem with that.
     
    5263 likes this.
    #13
  14. 5263

    5263 G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    12,358
    There are many interpretations I guess, but Imo, this is incorrect. If you said out as the ball went to the opponents, then they can take the point, but you can talk when the ball is coming your way ..........and saying out before the ball lands is not a legit call anyway. Ball must land before a legit call can be made.
     
    #14
  15. user92626

    user92626 Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8,012
    I have no problem with anyone's call as long as it is their call. Right or wrong, it's an unfortunate situation when there's no referee. However, I do have problem when someone makes call for both sides. Correct call or not, that's completely unfair.

    Like today, my partner who's extremely overweight and slow served a ball and I, being at the net watching to poach a return, saw it "out" and didn't react but the returner (casually) ripped the ball dtl for a winner. I told him about my position but he said it was in. So, it was his point. No argument.

    Then, later the same opponent served to my overweight partner. His serve appeared to be in but my partner called it "out" immediately and didn't return. For me, regardless what I see, I never like to make calls when I'm not responsible for, especially with this group. Thankless job. It's a good policy I have to avoid problems.

    Here's where it got ridiculous. The server insisted that he had made an ace and his point. I appealed to both of them that they got to be fair with my partner because it was his right to call-- maybe my partner was cheating, maybe he's got ****ty eyesight. Most likely the former, but there's no remedy for this, without a referee. The game halted for like 5 minutes for argument.
     
    5263 likes this.
    #15

Share This Page